What's new

How do I watch HD without black bars? (1 Viewer)

So I'm fairly new to the world of HD, as in I just bought my first HD TV a few days ago.

I'm wondering if it's normal, or what I'm doing wrong, but some channels/shows are full screen on HD, but most aren't, they either have black bars on the sides, or top and bottom, or both. So a lot of times there is just a smaller image in the middle of my TV, which leaves me wondering why I purchased a 50" TV if I can't watch 50" of TV.

I've got a Bell 9241 HD PVR, connected to my TV with HDMI, and have some decent HD programming but it's looking like most stuff is "fake" HD to me.

For those who know Bell, the HDTV setup in the receivers menu is set to 1080i/16x9, and my TV's ratio is set to 16x9, but as I said, most stuff I need to stretch/zoom/etc to fill the screen, then it just makes everything look squished and out of place.

I would really appreciate any help getting it sorted if I'm doing something wrong or have some settings not set correctly.

GeorgeAB

Supporting Actor
Real Name
G. Alan Brown
The black bars are normal. This is due to the fact that not all video programming is produced in HD or a 16 x 9 aspect ratio. Black bars were also present when viewing the former 4 x 3 aspect ratio TVs for similar reasons. Not all programs are produced in the same aspect ratio. In order to display them on any screen without image loss or geometric distortion, the black bars fill in the unused portions of the screen.

Best regards and beautiful pictures,
G. Alan Brown, President
CinemaQuest, Inc.
A Lion AV Consultants Affiliate

"Advancing the art and science of electronic imaging"

SethH

Senior HTF Member
George is correct, but most "made-for-tv" HD programming should fit your TV perfectly. When watching movies or watching programming filmed in SD (or 4:3) you are more likely to see black bars. If you are seeing black bars when watching the news or something like that in HD then you may have some settings issues.