What's new

HDMI vs. DVI cables (1 Viewer)

SQMonte

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Rich
Everyone is talking about HDMI cables now, and damn they're expensive. I am a noob to HD and all that goes along with it so I was wondering if someone could tell me a little bit about the difference between the two cables listed above. Is HDMI that much better than DVI that DVI shouldn't even be a consideration? Are there certain applications where HDMI is overkill? Thanks in advance for any light you can shed on this for me.

Mike_NW

Agent
Real Name
Mike
HDMI carries audio and video. DVI carries video only, forcing you to run separate audio cables. My experience is that picture quality should be the same. I use a DVI-to-HDMI adapter cable so that my Comcast HD box (featuring DVI output but no HDMI output) can work with my HDMI-input TV.

SQMonte

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Rich
Thanks for the info. For mainly wire management and cosmetic issues, it seems HDMI would be the way to go, however i'm in the same boat as you. I too have a Comcast HD box with only DVI output so I'll have to do that same as you did, get an adapter. I have found that MonoPrice would be the way to go as far as the HDMI cable and adapter, low cost, exceptional performance, that's my kind of combo
htf_images_smilies_rock.gif

So now I'll have to run audio cables seperately, I think I'll use digital coax for that.

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
Using DVI is not that bad. One cable straight to the TV with DVI for the video. One cable straight to the receiver for the audio.

The one advantage to HDMI is a "daisy chain" of signals to the TV, then to the receiver. So your TV speakers work for casual watching, but you fire up the receiver for more serious sound.

Hope this helps.

SQMonte

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Rich