What's new

Building a home cinema over my garage need help (1 Viewer)

Ozzymc

Auditioning
Real Name
Martin Mc Donnell
Hello I am a newbie here. Just a little background I have built a new twin garage separate from the house. The space above I have wired it for a ceiling mount projector with hdmi and also for surround sound. I hope to have a bar and pool table also. Might have to leave out the pool table but I will soon see. The ceiling height is 7'9" and I have dropped the wires 11' from the wall. I am hoping to use a wall mounted motorised screen.
There are so many Projectors home cinema systems and screens out there it is mind boggling.
I seem to have settled on the Epson 6900 projector ( hope I am right)
I have bought a yamaha home system and it is on the way
I am having a lot if trouble trying to select a screen ie make or brand. I don't want to go to crazy as the whole project has gone way over budget. :(. If anyone has any suggestions I would be most grateful. Thanks

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Unless you have a dual display you don't need a motorized screen.
You could make your own screen right out of the wall itself with MaxxMud.
So we can come up with further options...
How big will the "screen area" be?(side question, how big is the wall itself?)
Planning wall mounted speakers where an actual AT screen would be worthwhile?

Ozzymc

Auditioning
Real Name
Martin Mc Donnell
Hello
The reason I was putting a motorised screen was because the stairs will be coming up beside the screen so I was afraid it could get damaged. In overall width including casings it can't be more than 80' as it is a hoped roof and that is keeping it down 9". I am trying to upload a photo from the I phone of the layout but it won't let me. I have already wired either side (ear height )and for the centre speaker ( more or less ) in trunking. It is to be plastered this week. The rear speakers are wired fir too.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer