Why don't DVD recorders have coax digital inputs?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Kevin C Brown, Apr 9, 2003.

  1. Kevin C Brown

    Kevin C Brown Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    5,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    You know, so you could put like 5 CD's worth of 16/44 music on one DVD? I don't think I've seen one like this. But yet you can get CD recorders with digital inputs so I don't think it's a copyright issue. PC based DVD recorders can do this, right?
     
  2. Philip Hamm

    Philip Hamm Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 1999
    Messages:
    6,873
    Likes Received:
    2
    PC based digital recorders can do virtually anything. It's not really valid to compare the two.

    DVD stand-alone units should have digital inputs IMO. I've never looked to see if they do or not.
     
  3. Reginald Trent

    Reginald Trent Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure about the Phillips DVD recorder but the Panasonic DMR E-30 has only analog inputs.
     
  4. jeff peterson

    jeff peterson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 1998
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    You must remember, most consumer model standalone CD recorders can only use music CD-Rs for digital copying, ensuring a royalty payment. The payment is included in the cost of these music CD-Rs; thus their higher cost.

    There are no DVD-R blanks that have a royalty structure built in; hence the lack of digital ins (they don't want us to have bit-perfect copies royalty free)
     
  5. Kevin C Brown

    Kevin C Brown Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    5,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jeff- Makes sense! Thanks.

    Oooooh: I have a pro CD recorder: takes computer blanks. I wonder if there are "pro" DVD burners yet. Hmmm... [​IMG]
     
  6. Matt DeVillier

    Matt DeVillier Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 1999
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    0
    redbook CD audio is 16/44, whereas LPCM on dvd is 16/48. It would require resampling either way.
     
  7. Kevin C Brown

    Kevin C Brown Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    5,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't know that. I wouldn't think a big deal though, because MD and DAT decks have sample rate converters that, if good quality, don't compromise the digital signal that much...
     
  8. Grant B

    Grant B Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2000
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Kevin
    Did you buy one yet?
    I have a DVD burner on my computer but have not got anything to turn out decent and the blanks are too $$$ to mess up
    Grant
     
  9. Philip Hamm

    Philip Hamm Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 1999
    Messages:
    6,873
    Likes Received:
    2
     
  10. Kevin C Brown

    Kevin C Brown Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    5,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Grant- Not yet, and here's why: [​IMG]

    Took me until Christmas 2001 to get a PC CD burner. I paid $99 for a 4x4x6 (or something) Iomega external unit. But then I went to town with EAC, CDRWIN, and a new ATAPI layer. Love it.

    But since I got that bugger so recently, I need to wait a little while until I get some more use out of it to justify getting a DVD burner! Plus I still need to learn about the formats, and right: once DVD-blanks get cheap enough you can just throw them away like CD-R's if you burn a coaster, it will be a lot more enticing...
     

Share This Page