What's new

Which Battle Royale version did I just buy? (1 Viewer)

MikeNeuman

Auditioning
I'm new to the whole multi-region DVD thing. Anyway I bought a version of Battle Royale on ebay that I can't find on any of the comparison sites. The ebay ID number is: 4192388257. (it wont let me post links). Anyway, which version is this, and is it a good version to buy? Thanks

Brian Thibodeau

Supporting Actor
It appears to be the Korean 2-Disc Director's Cut, as seen here at Yesasia:

http://us.yesasia.com/en/PrdDept.asp...ection-videos/

I don't personally have this version, but I do have the both the original HK R3 single disc release and the British 2-disc Director's Cut tin set, which has many (possibly all) of the features on the Korean set, though I'm not sure if the Korean set has English subs on the bonus material.

Either way, you appear to have got a legit version as I've seen this version in two big Toronto record stores with gargantuan "import" markups.

One word of warning: the director's cut is so-called due to footage that was filmed after the film's premiere and inserted for a theatrical re-release (or "cash-grab" as I like to call it). As such, the footage provides background on the students (one or two in particular) and is inserted at key points in the narrative. Many would argue, myself included as I have both versions, that this extra footage hurts the pace of the tighter, original film. In fact, much of the footage is of a school basketball game attended by nearly all the students that ultimately end up in Battle Royale, which is visually at odds with the original film's presentation of the kids as borderline delinquents when it comes to their studies, their respect for their superiors, and their school. If you are able, try to see the shorter cut as well (preferably first if you can find it cheap), as it plays much better.

Brian Thibodeau

Supporting Actor