What's new

Upsampler Advice: Bel Canto DAC 1or2 or Perpetual Technologies P1a? (1 Viewer)

GeorgeC

Agent
I'm considering an upsampler between my Sony CD multichanger and Outlaw 950 preamp. I've gotten spoiled by the sound of SACDs and DVD/As, but have a lot of CDs. I'd love to be able to get a slightly less harsh, smoother sound and less listening fatigue from my current CDs.

I've heard great things about both these units. (I've even heard suggestions to just get a Sony SCD-555es, as it has a great price and pretty smooth Redbook playback). I'm pretty new to the whole upsampler thing. I know the Bel Canto has a DAC built in, but I probably don't need that as there should be pretty good DACs in the 950. Any recommendations from people familiar with either or both of these as to which should sound better?

thanks

KeithH

Senior HTF Member
George, you certainly have a lot of options. What Sony changer do you have? Something to consider in going with an external DAC is whether your Sony player will function as a good transport. I wouldn't consider Sony's mass-market changers to be good transports. In addition, many of them have optical digital outputs, and many audiophiles claim that coaxial digital outputs provide better sound. These are things to consider. I prefer coaxial digital outputs because the cables are often more robust than optical digital cables.
If you are going to consider a Bel Canto DAC, also look at MSB models and the Perpetual Technologies P-3A. Many like to pair the P-3A with the P-1A. As stock units, the P-3A and P-1A get high marks, but www.modwright.com has been authorized by Perpetual Technologies to perform modifications to further improve the performance. In other words, having modwright.com do the modifications does not void the warranty. I am considering the P-3A DAC for my main system based on the positive reviews it has garnered.