What's new

Updated theater pics... added recliners (thanks Wal-mart) (1 Viewer)

Jeff Holton

Stunt Coordinator
Thanks to Wal-mart. I was able to replace the couches in my theater with "genuine" leather recliners. I needed 7 chairs... and after pricing them from several different furniture stores, I had given up the hope.

But Wal-mart was selling these recliners for $175 a piece. Now, these are definatly not the greatest leather chairs in the world, and you don't sink into them like other more expensive chairs. But, they are actually pretty comfortable, and in the relatively dim theater lighting, you can't really tell the difference.

And the fact that I could furnish the entire room for about the same price as one "nice" chair... I couldn't resist. And, I've been very pleased with the result.

I thought this might be handy for the rest of the "budget" theater enthusiasts out there.

* I apologize for the poor picture quality... I just got a new digital camera and I am still learning how to use it.

* The link to my theater is below in my signature.

MikeWh

Second Unit
Those look pretty sweet for $175 a piece! I'll have to make a trip to Wal-Mart and check 'em out. Thanks for the tip, Jeff.

Cam S

Screenwriter
Geez, our Wal-Mart doesn't sell any furniture :frowning: Those look SOOOO inviting btw!!! I found some really nice chairs at Ikea that would be perfect for a theater, they are only $150 canadian for the cloth and man, they are SOOOO comfy! The chair is called the POÄNG armchair whic can be seen
here.

DarrinH

Second Unit
How far of a throw do you have from your projector and how big of an image does that throw result?

Jeff Holton

Stunt Coordinator
The throw distance is right at 16 1/2 feet... and the image is about 105 inches on the diagonal. It barely fits within the screen... it is the smallest image the projector can throw at that distance... any closer and I would have had to mount it from the ceiling.