What's new

Terrible Speaker Hiss. I'm a Newbie please take pitty (1 Viewer)

JasonMIL

Grip
Hello all. I'm brand new to this forum and am hoping someone can help me with a problem that is so annoying that I have become obsessive about it. Anyways, I know most of you have rather high-end setups (which I currently can't afford), but I have put together a system that should work for my needs. It includes:
Toshiba 32 inch TrueFlat TV
Panasonic Prog. Scan DVD
Sherwood 6108 Digital/DTS Receiver
Sony SA-VE 355 Speaker package and sub (wife wouldn't allow big speakers cluttering the living room and it's all i could afford at the moment.
Anyways, my problem is that I get perfect sound from my center channel, but when watching TV, movies, ... There is a good deal of hiss and distortion from the Front and rear speakers. This never happened with my previous receiver and the same speakers and cabling so I have to assume that it's a receiver issue. The problem is most pronounced when watching TV in PL and PLII modes. It is still present, though in an almost indescernable level on DVD's with Dolby Digital/DTS.
The Sherwood receiver is brand new and all the reviews I've read (at least 20)say that this is a good entry-level receiver that produces clean (not powerful but CLEAN, crisp sound) At this point, that's all I'm looking for. So there could be a few problems:
A) A faulty receiver
B) An adjustment or option that I'm not seeing that could be causing interference and hiss (I've heard too much treble might be the cause)
C) Wires crossing and interfering with each other in the back of the unit. I'm using properly shielded, high-quality cables and separated everything the best I could but might this still cause problems?
D) Something that only you HT experts can figure out.