What's new

Subwoofer making strange noise during some test tones ....... (1 Viewer)

Joe Mihok

Second Unit
I just finished building and testing my Adire Tempest SBB4 sub and I'm quite impressed with the results. It's my first time hearing a decent sub in my HT so I was actually floored when I watched Matrix Revolutions and Finding Nemo over the weekend. Anyways, last night I decided to throw in an old CD full of test tones I downloaded on the internet (15hz-100hz) just to see what this sub can do. Well, all was great until I reached the 23hz mark. While the room felt pressurized and the walls were vibrating, I could also hear a faint pulsating noise. The niose was almost like a very quick "airy buzz" ??? It's very hard to describe. It got more and more intense as it got lower down to about 15hz until I could feel no vibration except for the "airy buzz" (the room did feel pressurized though.). Anyone know what this is and if it can be fixed ? I haven't painted or finished the exterior yet so I can always alter the ports if need be.

The specs for my SBB4 are:

Driver - Tempest 15"
Enclosure - 24" x 24" x 24" @ 194L
Ports - Dual 3" PVC @ 29.3 cm + internal/external flares
Stuffing - 64 ounces of PolyFil
Amp - Kenwood AVR (125watt x2 @ 8 OHM)

Jeremy Stockwell

Supporting Actor
Joe,

It's hard to say what you're hearing/feeling from your description, but it could be several things.

Where did your tuning point end up? (25Hz, 20Hz, 18.8Hz) Looks like you ended up using that unusual flange instead of a rounded flare (per spec.). I'm wondering if those could have affected your tuning point and what you're hearing is significant port noise below tuning point?

Could also be a room node at that frequency? Or possibly just significant room gain below 23Hz? Could be something buzzing in your room making a weird noise?