What's new

Not getting audio from cable on my HTS... help! (1 Viewer)

csmiley51

Auditioning
Real Name
Charlie
First... I am new to home theaters and was thrilled to find this site. After reading through a few posts, this seems like a great community and I feel lucky to find a place to get expert advice from and thank any of you in advance for your help. Now down to business:

I purchased a modest home theater system (Samsung HT-Q45). I don't have a HD television, but it is only a few years old (Sharp SRS). I have the following components:

1. VCR
2. TiVo
3. Cable (Motorola box)

I seemed to have done a few things right so far... all of the speakers work, I can play DVDs and CDs and get surround sound, the basics all seem to be working. What I'm UNABLE to do is get regular television/cable to go through my home theater system. What would be the best way to accomplish this?

Thanks!!

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
Hi Charlie. Welcome to HTF!

In general, you send video straight to the TV and for your equipment, L/R audio to the receiver on the Samsung.

Then to watch Tivo/Cable, you adjust the TV to see the Cable box video and select the input to hear the Audio.

If your receiver on the Samsung has a yellow video input on 3 devices, you could send Composite Video (single RCA cable) and L/R audio to each input. Then run a composite video cable to your TV and how the receiver will let you switch VCR/TIVO/Cable with it's remote.

Here might be your problem: Do you have a SVideo cable between the samsung and the TV? Many receivers do not convert one cable type to the other. Try running a single, video cable from the "video out" on the Samsung to the TV. Now you should be able to see VCR/TIVO/CABLE.

Hope this helps.

csmiley51

Auditioning
Real Name
Charlie
Thank you so much for the reply... this is giving me a much better idea of how this should be set up to get what I want. A few follow up q's though: