What's new

New Too This -- Someone Help?! (1 Viewer)

zDrFeelGoodz

Auditioning
Real Name
Victor Hansford
Ok, so my "home theater" is a bit of a mess. It's my first attempt at something like this and I would say it's definitely a budget room. Some might say it's a bit of a game room instead of a home theater, but I like to think of it as both. The games lead to my problem though - as I have too many. I have a Ps3, Ps4, Xbox One, Xbox 360, and a Wii U.
All 7 of these need to be connected through HDMI, but I also need optical audio from all of them to my Vizio 5.1 surround setup. The soundbar only has one optical input. I think what I need is something along the lines of a 4x1 HDMI switch with Optical out. So, first of all, if anyone can help me in that department, PLEASE do? I've been looking around for them and have only found a couple. Each seem to have their own problems, so maybe you guys can find something better.
Secondly, there's going to be too many remote's if this happens. I'll have the Dish remote, the TV remote, the Soundbar remote, and the Switch remote. Is there any universal remote that I can use to control all of this? I don't even know where to begin with this stuff. Any questions just ask.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
An HDMI switch with "removed toslink" won't do anything for you if you intend to still have 5.1(the HDMI switch will dumb your audio down to 2.0 PCM...don't doubt that. This is the 5th, this month, thread on the subject)

Your best option is buying a real 5.1 AVR with HDMI inputs and getting rid of the Vizio.

zDrFeelGoodz

Auditioning
Real Name
Victor Hansford
schan1269 said:
Your other option is to buy two of these...

http://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-102946-Optical-TosLink-Bi-Directional/dp/B0097IWZRC/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1386301894&sr=1-1&keywords=toslink+switch

And run one into the other, giving you a total of 5 connections.