New RPTV makes my computer monitors all wobbly

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Steve Enemark, Jun 24, 2003.

  1. Steve Enemark

    Steve Enemark Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone seen this? I just bought a new RPTV (Sony 51WS500) and when it's turned on, the image on both my computer monitors starts to get all shaky and wobbly. The monitors and tv are on three different surge protectors, plugged into outlets in three different areas of my condo. What is this, and what can I do about it? Thanks
     
  2. Steve Enemark

    Steve Enemark Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone, anyone at all? [​IMG]
     
  3. Aaron Smith

    Aaron Smith Extra

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have an old house with old electical wiring?
     
  4. JoeRiley

    JoeRiley Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey... that's happnening to me too. I just got my RPTV tuesday, and have noticed the same little problem.

    It's a minor wobbling... but it's definitely there. And my tv is on a surge protector on a completely seperate electrical outlet then the computer and monitor (also on a surge protector).

    FWIW, I'm in an apartment building that was built in the mid 70's.
     
  5. Steve Enemark

    Steve Enemark Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a condo, and it's about 24 years old. I don't know if it's the original wiring, I've only lived here about a year...
     
  6. DaveGTP

    DaveGTP Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had an issue with a line running up and down through my monitor...it turned out to be too much power all on the same circuit (2 monitors, computers, A/C, and some other stuff). The monitor wasn't getting enough power, and that's why it was acting funny. It took a couple of hours searching the net to figure it out. I was reseating the video card, reinstalling drivers, checking interrupts, etc.

    Perhaps check your circuit breakers to see if the TV and the comps are on the same circuit (you can never tell how an older house could be wired). My dad had problems in my grandma's old victorian house. With the TV, the computer, and the microwave, and a couple of other smaller things were all on at once, it blew a fuse. He had to turn off the TV to use the microwave out in the kitchen. He also finally figured out the wall A/C unit on the same circuit was causing his cable modem to disconnect. Tech support never did figure it out. He put 2 and 2 together one day.
     
  7. dan fritzen

    dan fritzen Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Isn't it because of the electomagnetic forces in the monitors and TV's? I get it too and have seen it at a friends house and he just rewired his basement to handle all 7 of his PC's (for LAN gaming.)
     
  8. Steve Enemark

    Steve Enemark Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    0
    I borrowed a voltage meter from work, and the voltage in all the outlets seems OK, maybe a little high (121-124 volts). I'm not sure if this is relevant. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page