What's new

Need tips for job interviews! (1 Viewer)

Steve Schaffer

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Steve Schaffer
I worked as a service tech in a major Toyota dealership for some 35 years and was fired a year ago. I suspect it was age discrimination (I'm 57) as I once heard the service manager say he was under pressure to fire some of the "old timers". In any case a month before I was fired I was offered an easier job at somewhat lower pay, which I should have taken as a hint that I was expected to quit, but didn't. I stayed on but was so stressed out that I got clumsy and accidentally damaged a couple of cars (very minor) which gave them the excuse to fire me. I was told that any new employer who called regarding my firing would only be told that I was listed as "do not rehire" with no details given.

I went to work for Sears selling electronics about a month later and frankly due to their pay structure am not making enough money to pay even may most basic obligations, though I find that I truly enjoy the contact with the public and am actually a pretty good salesman. Most of my success is probably due to my ability to get a good rapport with customers coupled with very good product knowledge.

I feel that I have at least another good 10 years working life left and really need to make more money so I'm applying for a sales position at a large Nissan dealership (my first love has always been cars). I have an interview scheduled for tomorrow afternoon and am getting a little apprehensive. I apparently flubbed my most recent interview for a similar job at our newly openned CarMax, as they sent me a very nice form letter saying that my qualifications were impressive but that they'd decided to pursue another candidate for the job.