Need help setting up a sound bar with my receiver/surround sound

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Silverskyline, May 7, 2013.

  1. Silverskyline

    Silverskyline Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    John
    I am sorry if this has already been discussed here but I am new here.I bought a Samsung sound bar with wireless subwoofer and have tried to hook it up so that I could use my surround sound and the sound bar at the same time.I got it to work in sorts. By hooking up my ps3 from its hdmi out to the receiver hdmi in, then the receiver out to the sound bar hdmi in, then the sound bar out to the TV hdmi in. However, it seems to be getting confused because it has no signal and then shows signal of the ps3 briefly the cuts out again, then comes back on again for longer but eventually cuts out and then back on and so on. The other issue is that it is still by passing sound bar sound, the only sound I am getting is still from the 7.2.Is this even possible of do I need to just give up on the dream?Thanks a bunch!
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    No, you do not connect audio components that way. There is 1000% less than even a pointless reason to do this.
     
  3. nara

    nara Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    UK
    Real Name:
    Hugh
    No it's not possible. If it was, it would sound more like an audio nightmare than a dream.
     
  4. Silverskyline

    Silverskyline Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    John
    You guys were super helpful and demeaning at the same time. 1000% less than pointless, my booking up a sound bar to a receiver makes more sense than that statement.I'll have to go to another website to get some mature help.Idiots
     
  5. nara

    nara Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    UK
    Real Name:
    Hugh
    I'm sorry you feel that way, but you're heading down a blind alley here. You really need to do some basic research before dismissing sound advice.
     
  6. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    If you read the OM of your AVR(which is???????) it will tell you if it processes the audio...then NOTHING is sent on to the next device...in your case, a soundbar.99.99999999999999999999999999999999999% of the time the next device is a TV.Thrrefore...it won't work. Even if your AVR is capable of sending along the audio, while proccessing it, it is dumbed down to 2.0pcm.
     

Share This Page