What's new

Many questions about how to setup my 5.1 surround system. (1 Viewer)

mdub330i

Auditioning
Real Name
Michael
Alright, so I am a total noob and this is my first post. Trying to start building a small home theatre/ media center in my condo. The tv is a Sharp 32 LCD that was my girlfriend's (I refuse to upgrade until I can afford a Pioneer). I will try to set this thread up in an organized fashion so if you have experience with one or more of the topics and feel like sharing I would appreciate it. The equipment that I currently have or have ordered are as follows, above mentioned.
Equipment
TV - Sharp 32 (720p) can't remember which model right now.
RECEIVER - Yamaha RX-V1900
SPEAKERS (all Klipsch Reference): L/R Bookshelf RB 61, Center RC 52, Rear L/R RS 42, Sub RW 10d
GAMING CONSOLE - Xbox 360
COMPUTERS - 2 Macbooks
ROUTER - Linksys WRT54G

ROOM LAYOUT AND SPEAKER PLACEMENT

Below are some photos of the room I am working with.

http://www.me.com/ro/michael.wiltz/G...12277041540001
http://www.me.com/ro/michael.wiltz/G...12277041600001
http://www.me.com/ro/michael.wiltz/G...12277041570001

So, obviously the room I am working with is less than ideal. My first questions are on speaker placement. I didn't get the tower style because, as you can see, I don't have room for them.
What I am thinking is that if i take the second shelves from the top out on either side of the "entertainment center' I could place the L/R fronts on the shelf that is level with the TV base. I could put the center channel on the shelf below the TV.
Where I get lost is where to put the sub and the rears. Tearing up drywall is not an option right now, so i am thinking of getting some of that track stuff (don't know what it's called) and running it along the top of the base board. Any suggestions on what to get and where?