What's new

Limited Budget. Current and Future advice needed.(Long) (1 Viewer)

RayHiga

Auditioning
Hello,
As a preface, I am a newbie. You have been warned. :)
I am looking to upgrade to a system this summer, where I would be pleased with the preformance for years to come. I am sure everybody in here strives for that but the upgrade bug seems to hit every 6 - 12 months or even less for some.
I intend to be contempt with a set-up where I wouldn't have to upgrade in the future.
The only way I can achieve this is by your guy's advice.
This post will be long, because I want to be as detailed as I can be. If I leave something out, please respond with questions and I will have the follow-up within a short period of time.
Here is my current home theater set-up,
TV - RCA F38310 * Bought last month *
DVD - Sony D530 * Around 2 years old *
Kenwood HTB 503 * Bought last December *
Sony SAWM 40 Subwoofer * Bought this January *
The reciever with the HTB 503 is Kenwood's VR407.
I am running AR component video from DVD to T.V, and RCA Standard Optical from DVD to Reciever.
All monster cable speaker wire (no spades or banna connectors) from speakers to reciever.
Monster Cable HT 700 Surge Protector
I plan to upgrade the speakers.
After posting a previous topic about which speakers to get, I came up with,
4 Paradigm Atoms V.2
1 Paradigm CC - 170
The total from my local dealer would be $460.00 plus tax.
This was a set_in_stone deal until today, where I really liked the Mini Monitor and Monitor 3 line. But for the price I'm getting, I think I will settle for the Atoms and CC. Any comments?
My main viewing is 10% music CD, 50% DVD, 40 % Basic Cable (Until I get the DirectTV installed, which I am waiting to see what happens with their current situation to subscribe)
I rarely listen to music cds, so I believe a small bookshelf speaker suits me most.
My viewing area is rather large, but will change as I will be moving alot (Currently enrolled in college and in early 20's)