What's new

HTF Fantasy Football '09 (1 Viewer)

Michael Warner

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Mike
HTF Fantasy Football '09 is now underway. Last year's owners have been notified and will have until 8/9 to sign up if they wish to play again this year. After that date I will post the number of remaining open slots in this thread and they'll be available to whoever else wants to play. There are no prizes beyond bragging rights and the draft is set for 8/23 at 8PM Eastern Time.

Every year I debate whether or not to renew this league but I've been running it since 2002 and it just seems wrong to let it die. Sure none of us are all that active here on HTF or in the fantasy league itself these days but there's just something reassuring about seeing the same team names year after year. It's about the tradition. The tradition of a league message board that remains completely empty from October through December. The tradition of one or two owners going AWOL each season. The tradition of one of those very same autopilot teams making the playoffs. And that my friends is fantasy football in a nutshell.

McPaul

Screenwriter
Real Name
Paul M
All over this like a hobo on a ham sammich!! Calgary Hitmen will dominate this year! Please let me know when you have the details!!

Jerry Almeida

Second Unit
Real Name
Jerry Almeida
Sure none of us are all that active here on HTF or in the fantasy league itself these days but there's just something reassuring about seeing the same team names year after year. It's about the tradition. The tradition of a league message board that remains completely empty from October through December. The tradition of one or two owners going AWOL each season. The tradition of one of those very same autopilot teams making the playoffs. And that my friends is fantasy football in a nutshell.
I was actually going to decline when I read the email invite this morning. Then I come on here and read this heartfelt message. How could I say no?