What's new

Help w/ speaker selection (1 Viewer)

Mike--M

Grip
Hello all, I have been lurking these groups for a while and appreciate all the info...

I have a Yamaha RX-v630 and an Infinity BU-2 sub. I am looking for a some advide on what I should do to build the aduio portion of my home theater system.

I would like to spend less than $2000.00 on speakers, so I am looking for speaker recommendations. My room is approx. 15x15 and I would like to play music and watch movies with the system...

I am wondering if I should invest in a more powerfull reciever or if it is fine to push a decent set of speakers.

One last thing, I have had my sub for about 8 years (almost never used) it seems to work fine, is it decent?

As you can probably tell, I am pretty new to this stuff so please excuse my ignorance.

Mike

SethH

Senior HTF Member
If you plan to keep you sub, here's what I would recommend for under $2000:

Mains B&W DM603 x2
Center B&W LCR60
Surround B&W DM602 x2

I think this would be a great setup to at least audition if you have a local B&W dealer. This comes in around $1800 MSRP I believe, so you could probably get it for less than that.

And if you could talk them down a little from that you might could put the rest of the money toward an Hsu or SVS sub (although I'm not familiar with the sub you have, so you may not need a new one).

Mike--M

Grip
Thanks for the reply,

Do you think that my current receiver will power those speakrs? It is 75 watts per channel RMS.

I will definatley look into the B&W speakers that you mentioned.

What do you thin kof the Monitor Audio silver series? I was considering the S8 fronts and the SFX rears? I have found a set of open box ones for $1300.00 for the set.

Thanks again for the input...

SethH

Senior HTF Member