What's new

Got a used Apple 30” Cinema HD Display (1 Viewer)

Nelson Au

Senior HTF Member
Hey guys,

I recently picked up a very used 30” Apple Cinema HD Display. It was in the e-waste bins at work! I saved it from the crusher.

I have always wanted one of these, in my work as an industrial designer, I saw another designer who works in the film industry designing vehicles for films several years ago, he uses two of these monitors connected to a Windows PCs. (He may no longer have this set-up, but it looked cool at the time! ) Because the display has the Dual Link DVI, it makes it possible to use with a PC.

My home set-up is a mid-2012 Mac Pro 12 core, the final model before the cylinder version. I got a deal on this Mac as it was slightly used. It’s still cranking today, but it’s limited to High Sierra. At some point I will upgrade to a new Mac Pro. I’m still waiting to see if Apple does another Mac Pro update. But for now, there is a side of me that finds it more satisfying to be able to maintain and continue to use this older Mac. I like that you can still add hard drives inside and I added a blu ray drive to it. So it’s been a long time dream to have a 30” Cinema HD Display too. I was using my 23” Cinema Display that I purchased new in 2005 with my G5 Mac at the time. This 30” display dates back to 2005, I found the model number and date info on the bottom edge of the screen. I also have a loaner PC from work to use for my CAD work at home.

I spent the morning yesterday cleaning all the gunk off the 30” display. I knew it works because it was connected to a PC at the office for a short time. After I got the dust and finger prints off the screen, it looks great! No scratches. I got the dirt and stickers off the back and cleaned the cables too. But the aluminum bezel and base do have some scratches and scraps and nicks. It’s not bad, but not perfect.