What's new

Good Bookshelf Speakers?? (1 Viewer)

kalebmoga21

Auditioning
Real Name
kaleb
Hey guys.

I'm pretty new at building Home Theater systems. My last Home theater was a HTIB. Now that I have upgraded to a custom Home Theater it's crazy how different it sounds. Right now my current system is,

Receiver: Pioneer VSX-1020-K 7.1

Speakers: Polk Audio RM95 (Which contains 5 RM8 Speakers)

Sub woofer: Polk Audio PSW505

I wanted to make a 7.1 and move my RM8 to all surround, because l feel that they lack the punch and bass affect that i want my two front speakers to have. I was thinking of trying Polk Audio Monitor40 Series II but was gonna wait till they go on sale, some reviews said they bought them for $99.00. What do you think we be the best bookshelf speakers for me under the 200 dollar mark?

Thanks for you help.

gp4Jesus

Auditioning
Real Name
Anthony W. Keve
being a felow Polkie, I'd like to help you w/you buying decision.

Can't locate info on the Polk Audio Monitor40 Series II speaker on their site or 'net.

IMHO I believe you want speakers, not just from the same company, but from the same line or series as they're designed to work best together; the primary reason your existing speakers work so well. Quote from Polk's site on the RM8: "When you do this, you'll never experience mismatched timbres and uneven sound reproduction. All RM Series Speakers are professionally timbre-matched to sound perfect together no matter what the configuration. "

Take the RTi A* series for example. They all, including the centers**, use the same tweeter; book shelf & floorstanding models - depending upon model, same 5.25" or 6.5" mid/woofs ; A7/9s - same 7" subs. Armed w/this info, depending upon space, decor, and spousal acceptance issues, take a look at other Polk Series speakers.

http://www.polkaudio.com/homeaudio/rtia/index.php

BTW I $aved a bunch, about 40% on Polk direct on ebay.

* [SIZE= 9px]I'm an RTi A fan[/SIZE]

** [SIZE= 9px]VERY similar mids [/SIZE]