What's new

Flexy Rack & Equipment position - some opinions needed (1 Viewer)

RobertMc

Agent
Hi all, I have been mooching around this Forum for a few months now and thanks to all of you for the advice, opinions and friendly assistance you freely give to members. This is my first post, so bear with me.

I am now in the final stages of getting my HT room completed - the carpet is due down today. Actually, the HT room is a dual purpose room, so although it's main focus is on keeping my HT and Music needs satisfied, it hasn't been constructed with all of the finer points of sound insulation, acoustics and video-ustics(?) in mind. Can't have everything when you're on a budget and have a wife.

To the point of this post. I am preparing to build a flexy-rack for my modest equipment. However, I would like some advice from you good people in relation to two things.

1: Where is the ideal place for equipment to be located in a HT room. I am fairly limited by cable lengths etc and also by room size, so at the moment, the flexy-rack is probably going to be situated next to the 56' RPTV, on the right hand side, between the TV and the right hand floor standing speaker.

2: Given this likely location, will the electronic displays of the various devices (DVD, VCR(with LCD screen), AV Receiver, CD etc) be a distraction when watching movies and if so, what should I do about it.

I haven't started the flexy-rack yet and I am thinking that it may be worthwhile trying to incorporate some type of semi-transparent screen door over the front of the rack to block off the displays. This screen could be on hinges to open for access, but also be semi-transparent so that the IR beams could get through and I would still be able to control the equipment with the remote. I was thinking a hinged door with some speaker cloth or similar.

Any thoughts guys - or should I not worry about the issue and launch straight on in to the project?!!