What's new

Experiences with purchasing used DVDs (1 Viewer)

Jonathan_E

Agent
Hello,

I was just curious if I could get some opinions from some members that like to purchase used dvds from pawn shops or similar places. Have you had good overall experiences? No bad discs?

I'm wondering because I'd like to pick up the season box sets for Star Trek: TNG and DS9, but they just hit the wallet so hard and I'm a college student.

I'm also curious if anyone from my area (Minneapolis, St. Paul, MN area) would have any recommendations for some popular pawn shops that I might want to check out.

Thanks,
Jonathan

Darko

Stunt Coordinator
Out of all the used DVD's I've purchased, only 1 had a scuff they couldn't clean. I took it home, played it, and it didn't work(DVD skipped). I took it back and my money was refunded.
So, I'd have to say that my experience with used DVD's has been extremely positive.

Carl Johnson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Carl III
I've bought plenty of used DVDs. I always ask to look at the disc before they ring it up, that way you can't go wrong.

Casey Trowbridg

Senior HTF Member
I have actually had more problems with new DVDs than with used, I guess I'm just lucky not to have gotten a bad used disc.

I would also buy the TNG season sets if they were used somewhere, that's a lot of coin to lay down for a show that I enjoyed but didn't watch all that often.

Josh Steinberg

Premium
Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Josh Steinberg
I haven't purchased a lot of used DVDs, but I've never had a problem with any of the ones I did.

If possible, check the DVDs before you leave the store. Find out what that store's return policy is. Most stores give you 30 days... if they have no return policy, even for defective merchandise, you might want to steer clear.