What's new

Do I use XLR or RCA Cables from Pre-Amp to AMP?? (1 Viewer)

Hockey4496

Auditioning
Real Name
Michael Koury
So I am total newbie when it comes to XLR cables and pre-amps; so I have a lot to learn on how to use them appropriately. I just ordered an Emotiva XDA-1 DAC/Pre-amp, which has 2 types of audio outputs - XLR or RCA.
So my question is:
For music, to get the best direct sound from my front towers, should I run the XLR tables from the pre-amp directly to my 2-channel AMP, and just completely skip the receiver (airport express-->Toslink-->Emotiva pre-amp-->XLR cables--> B&K AMP-->Front Speakers)? Or do I have to keep my receiver in the equation and run the pre-amp-->RCA cable-->Receiver-->AMP-->Front Speakers?
Components being used:
Receiver - Sony V444ES (pre-out to amp for powering front speakers only)
Amplifier - B&K ST125.2
Pre-amp/DAC - Emotiva XDA-1
Speakers - Klipsch RP-5 (Front), RS-3 (Rear), RC-3 (Center), RSW-12 (Sub)
Audio Source for music: iTunes stream to Airport Express--->Toslink--->DAC
Audio Source for movies: Playstation 3--->fiber optic--->Receiver
I would really appreciate some advice from someone more knowledgable than myself.....
Thanks in advance for taking the time to help!!!
Michael

Hockey4496

Auditioning
Real Name
Michael Koury
Ok, so after some additional reading, I have composed a some possible setup options....but I have no clue which one will offer the cleanest signal?
Option 1:
iTunes stream ---> Airport Exress ---> Toslink ---> Receiver ---> fiber optic ---> Pre-amp/DAC ---> XLR cables ---> AMP
AND
Playstation 3 ---> fiber optic (video via HDMI straight to TV) ---> Receiver ---> same as above
Option 2:
iTunes stream ---> Airport Exress ---> Toslink --->(may add a DIP upscaler here?)---> Pre-amp/DAC ---> XLR cables ---> AMP
I welcome all thoughts and input, and appreciate your time helping me out!

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Now I'm not confused...
The XDA-1 is NOT A PRE-AMP.