What's new

DIY Subwoofer Enclosure Help (1 Viewer)

Robert N.

Auditioning
I'm a regular over at www.caraudioforum.com
I'm planning a very simple home theatre setup for either my basement or my room...I haven't decided yet...
In any case, I'm going to have a Cerwin Vega! VEGA car audio sub lying around after I get done messing around with it in a SPL box for my car...just for kicks...when I get bored with that I want to use it for my HT...now..I know it isn't the best type of woofer for a home theatre but I think it might do the job well enough...I'd like to couple it with a plate amp...maybe from partsexpress or adire audio...if the VEGA just doesn't work at all I might sell it later and replace it with a Shiva or Tempest...
I'm looking for some help on the enclosure design for my VEGA...I know how to design a box well enough, as I am from the car audio realm...but I'm not sure what kind of tuning freq is good for HT...I'm new to all this, could someone please help??

Cees Alons

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Cees Alons
Robert,
Welcome to the forum. No need to bump up your post so soon. You will get help, eventually!
The optimal tuning frequency of a ported sub is mainly determined by the characteristics of the driver. So an important question to start with is: which driver do you have exactly? Do you know the T-S parameters of that driver?
From there you could give it a start by using a program like, say, WinISD.
Have a good start!
Cees

Robert N.

Auditioning
Sorry, CAF's quick responce time has spoiled me :D
In any case, I do have Win ISD and I do know how to use it fairly well...
Problem is, I'm really not sure the kind of responce is optimal for a Home Theatre subwoofer...I'll post what peramiters I have in a minute...let me dig them up...

Robert N.

Auditioning
Okay, I got those peramiters:

This is all that Cerwin Vega has on file...

VEGA 124 Specifications

Diameter: 12”

Number of Voice Coils: 1

Sensitivity(1W @ 1m): 94DB

RMS Power Handling: 400 Wrms