What's new

Digital Camera With QUICK Response Time? (1 Viewer)

James Edward

Supporting Actor
I currently own an Olympus digital camera vintage 2004. I hate how long it takes between shutter press and actual photo taken. My various film SLR's seem lightening fast in comparison.

I am looking to get a much quicker camera, and am willing to pay for minimal shutter lag.

The Canon G9 appeals to me in price and features, however, it shows a full half-second delay in bright light, and more than one second in low light.

Is an SLR the only way to go?

Feel free to speak in old-school photography terms in your answer- I have been using cameras in one form or another for nearly forty years.

Within reason, price is not an object- though I'd like to keep the price under 1500 dollars.

Thanks for any responses...

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Scott Merryfield
A digital SLR will eliminate the shutter lag issue for you. Some of the newer point & shoots may be getting better, but that is something that always bugged me with the p&S cameras I've used in the past. You should also get almost instant startup time with a dSRL, too. My old Canon Powershot G3 (a great p&s, IMO) was slow at startup, too. Most dSLR's have a startup time of less that half a second -- it will take you longer than that to raise the camera to look through the viewfinder.

You can get a starter dSLR with a kit lens starting at around $600. The big cost with dSLR will be additional lenses. I've spent about 5 times as much on lenses as my Canon Rebel XT camera body cost, and I still plan on adding a couple more lenses eventually.

ManW_TheUncool

His Own Fool
Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
ManW
If you want as fast as possible, you'll probably want a DSLR w/ whatever USM/AFS/HSM/etc. (ie. built-in, silent wave AF motor) lenses to go w/ it although some camera+lens combos can still be quite fast w/out those.