What's new

Confused about DVD recorders..... (1 Viewer)

Tommy*M

Auditioning
Apparently, some of the manufacturers of DVD recorders are about as confused as I am, from what I've read. Well, I don't really know where to start......I was actually in my car, about to drive to the store and purchase the Philips DVDR985. It was about then that everything I have read the past few weeks started to set in and eat at me. The progressive scan glitch won't affect me (before last week, I didn't even know what progressive scan meant, so yes, I am a novice). But then I read about timer glitches, and "missing video" glitches, "NO DISC" glitches and such. I finally decided that I don't know enough about what I'm buying to rush out and spend money.....not yet anyway. Now I turn to the people here, because you all know more than I do about this stuff, and nobody here is trying to sell anything, so I can get unbiased opinions.

Anyway....I know that Pioneer and Panasonic have DVD recorders on the market also (with Panasonic supposedly releasing anthird-generation model this month), although it seems harder to find information on these models than the Philips. It seems Philips spent most of their time on marketing instead of testing their product.