What's new

Center speaker height vs. L/R Mains vs. TV Placement (1 Viewer)

TomCL

Grip
Hi all,

A newbie here...

What's the maximum distance (height) you would allow between the Center speaker tweeter and the L/R mains?

My issue: I'm setting up a home theater w/ a 50" wall-mounted plasma that will be about 12 feet from the seating area. I'm planning on having the screen range from 31" to 56" from the floor. This seems like a reasonable height for a wall-mounted TV (When sitting on the couch, my eyes would hit the bottom 1/3 of the screen).

If I put the center speaker below the TV and angle it up slightly, it will hit the listening area nicely, so that's my preference...as opposed to having it above the TV. The thing is that my L/R speakers will be wall-mounted, but I don't want them that low (might look funny, kids might bump their heads, etc)....

So, any input?

Thanks!
Tom

Paul_Dunlop

Second Unit
Hi

You want to keep the tweeters of all the front 3 at the same height - and you want that height to be at ear level

Having said that, you can get away without strictly following those rules, since a lot of times that would place the center blocking the TV

If you tilt the center up (or down) it will compensate for the different levels of the tweeters

Check the gallery, and you will see some of the variances in L/R and center height - and how people compensate for them

Hope this helps

TomCL

Grip
So, does angling of speakers make-up for their difference in height? Does this hold true for the L/R mains as well?

Thanks!
Tom

Paul_Dunlop

Second Unit
Hi - yes, to a degree

you can overcome some height restrictions by tilting, but it depends on the distance that you are from the speakers (the farther away you are, the less you will need to tilt them)

you can only tilt a certain amount and still have the speaker stable, if it is a tower or a bookshelf on a stand