What's new

budget projector project (1 Viewer)

dman7

Auditioning
Real Name
Doug Svuba
I know I am a super newb, and everybody has a budget projector project, but I would appreciate feedback on my half-baked project ideas.

This may redefine the concept of budget projector project. I am OK with a bit older tech, and I am okay taking a little risk with ebay items.

I will have a small room (10' x 12') with very low ambient light. I was considering a used DLP tv about 65" wich can be had for around $350-$400 on craigslist, but now I am thinking projecter may be better. I want it to look good, but am okay with non-1080P since it appears that will save me a ton of cash. If I can get a native 720P projector with an HDMI input i think that may be perfect. would it be better to stick with the dlp tv? I could probably even find a reasonable 1080P unit?

From the limited research I have done so far I was thinking about a craigslist projector that is being offered for $200. it is the panasonic AE700u. I also noticed a few optomas on ebay for around $300 that may fit the bill...Optoma HD70, HD72, HD73.

I really have no idea about the screen, but once again budget is key. I am thinking 65"-90" because the room is quite small. I saw this on walmart.com.... Elite M80NWV for $70 ,,not opposed to trying paint either.

Am I on the right track?

Any other equipment suggestions?

What are the advantages/disadvantages of DLP vs LCD,

I am actually building the room in my garage, so I can incorporate speaker wires, mounting hardware, soundproofing etc, i can even change the size or shape a little bit if there is some reason for that.

.....How hard will it be to set this up?

Thank you for any help, and let the flames begin!!!

Jim Mcc

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jim