What's new

Beginner looking for direction (1 Viewer)

d2freak82

Auditioning
Real Name
Alan
Alright this may be a bad thing, but I have a lot of experience in car audio stuff. I have never really been too interested in home sound until recent. I hear it's much easier to create good sound in a home though because you're not fighting the small space, the weird surface reflections so on.
Alright so I inheritated some stereo equipment for the home. I'm not 100% yet on if I remember where I put all the speakers, but this was all bought from Radio Shack back in the day lol.
RCA STAV-3880 and I believe if I still have them 4 optima stereo speakers, not sure on what they are, but for all starter purposes I'm guessing they will serve well.
A few things, I'm a little confused.... on the back of the receiver it has a sub out which is only 1 rca, I assume for mono channel? I don't know I've never seen anything of the sort with just a single out. Also theres a subwoofer pre out, also a single rca. Same with the center channel, single out why wouldn't they have like a left and right side?
Probably too much car audio there
Also on the back there is hook ups for all speakers done where you connect speaker wire directly, and then it has surround that is done with RCA's.... is this so you can add an amp later?
Onto another question here, I don't at this time have a subwoofer for home audio..... I can build a cabinet, and I have several car audio subs that I could use..... I have 2 Atomic 8's, 2 Memphis 10's, and an old school Orion HCCA 15 (before DEI bought out) Could I use any of those and add an amp from the home audio side.
Sorry I just don't know where to start in all this, I've got questions pouring out....

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene
That RCA receiver looks like one of the early 5.1 receivers, before they really standardized the inputs and outputs.