What's new

Attributing system sibilance (1 Viewer)

Eric Sevigny

Stunt Coordinator
I am fairly new to Home Theater, in fact I am fairly new to audio component altogether. I currently have what many would consider a "bright" system:
Yamaha RX-V800 (Receiver)
Paradigm Monitor 3 v2 (Fronts)
Paradigm CC-370 v2 (Center)
SVS 25-31PC (Subwoofer)
Marantz CC-45 (CD-player)
Pioneer DV-333 (DVD-player)
It was fine for me at the beginning, but it did wear me out. Now I find it too bright, and sibilance is something I can't help but notice (although, I have to say some CDs or DVDs are better sounding, but at higher volume, they all exhibit some degree of it).
My questions would be, how can I be certain the sibilance is caused by my equipment rather then say, the recording I am listening to ? If I decide to go out and buy new speakers, how can I be certain I will evaluate the sibilance/brightness of a speaker correctly (i.e. I can't be sure the CDs I bring are free of it, I can't be sure the equipment the dealer uses are clean, ...)? Choosing audio equipment is a way more complicated endeavor then I had initially expected.
To fix my problem, I was considering either trading in my speakers for some other (perhaps Studio line of Paradigm? PSB Stratus?) or buying an external high-end amp like the Odyssey Stratos. Would any of that fix anything ? (I am not considering changing the Yamaha, and playing with the treble doesn't really do what I want...).
Alternatively, maybe my problem is in the cables (I use plain cables I got at the local shop) or players (DVD or CD) ?

Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
I don't find the Monitor series to be bright at all. I would say, in your case, it may have more to do with the receiver and/or the pairing of these speakers with it than anything. It sounds like an otherwise very nice setup.