What's new

Any thoughts on PLAY magazine? (1 Viewer)

Chad Ellinger

Second Unit
While still mourning the lost of my beloved NextGen magazine, I have been desperately searching for a replacement of the same caliber. Although many on this forum have recommended the UK-based EDGE, it has been difficult to find here in the states, and the subscription price of £62.02 is a little steep. Today while perusing the magazine rack in Barnes and Noble, I came across PLAY, a videogame magazine that also covers, in its own words, "anime, dvd, film, music, gear, toys." The layout and picture quality look outstanding. The articles seem to be decent in this (the December 2002) issue. Would anyone with a subscription to PLAY care to comment? I'd love to hear your thoughts on the magazine before I decide on whether to subscribe.

Kelley_B

Senior HTF Member
I have a subscription. Play is from the people that brought out GameFan, Gamers Republic. I like the fact that they have a lot of pictures as I use them to decorate my cubicle at work. The writing isn't anything that special although they are talking about including nudity in the next issue!

Eric C. Mylonas

Stunt Coordinator
As the former EIC of GameGO (and GameFan), I can assure you that no one that worked on that mag, works on Play.

Kelley_B

Senior HTF Member
Well I stand corrected. So what are you working on now? As I liked both GameGo and GameFan over EGM, GamePro, etc...

JoshF

Supporting Actor
I'm pretty impressed with Play, so far. It looks sometimes like they're trying a bit too hard, but that's excusable.

I'm a fan of EGM, but that's mainly because I get to write for them.

Chad Ellinger

Second Unit
The GameFan connection bothers me a little bit. I liked GameFan, but they would gush over almost every single game that came out. One of the things I appreciated about NextGen is that they weren't afraid to criticize even the most heavily hyped games.

BrianB

Senior HTF Member