What's new

Another help me spend money thread.. Basic 2ch with growth potential or a throw away htib (1 Viewer)

bstrang6

Grip
Real Name
Brock Strang
Okay I am a 22 year old first time home owner looking for a way to stop listening to my tv speakers. I have a 51 inch Samsung Plasma (720 model) that i use for my ps3 ( strictly for dvd and netflixs ) and Dish Network hopper. I originally hoped to spend 200 ish on a throw away syatem.
I have done some snooping around at local pawn shops and local electronics stores that sell open items and have some wiggle room ( being a salesman myself, I hate big box stores) I know i can get a nice looking sony with hdmi inputs for 125 with six month warranty or 107 out the door. And there is a plethora of speaker choices locally at the pawn shops which i can get for next to nothing.
I think I have narrowed myself down to two options, but feel free to correct me.
Option one.
Pioneer htp-071
My reasoning here is that this seems to come with a real receiver which i could use as i upgrade speakers, has the hdmi inputs i need, and a reasonable price tag. While more than I wanted to spend all at once, It may suit my needs longer than others.
Option two
Buy a bargin receiver and two tower speakers
My reasoning behind going this route would be if the pioneer receiver mentioned above is garbage. I know the pawn shops has sub pre out, and enough channels for me.