What's new

$2500 budget (1 Viewer)

Brad_c_g

Agent
I am just starting to learn about the world of big screen TV's its all pretty confusing to me still.

I have a $2500 budget for a tv that will be 80% movies 20% tv/sports. I want a 50"+ because I don't want to regret goign to small. That pretty much rules out a Plasma screen I would assume. I want something that is going last me more then 3-4 years. What should I be looking for? is DLP a must? Are some brands better then others?

Why would someone get a 56" for $100 more then a 62" for example from Costco:

Toshiba 62" 16:9 DLP HDTV-Ready Projection Television $2,399.99

Samsung 56" 16:9 HDTV DLP Projection TV
w/ Matching Stand $2,499.99

Panasonic 50" 16:9
HDTV-Ready LCD
Rear Projection TV $2,199.99

Whats the difference between an LCD Panasonic and a DLP Samsung?

John S

Senior HTF Member
What you should be looking for? You should be looking for a display that meets your requirements and has a picture quality you think you can live with for several years.

Is DLP a must? All display technologies have trade offs, DLP is no different. Many of us don't prefer this technology, so not even close to a must here.

Brand perception differences are a much larger factor than actual brand performance differences in todays world. Brand loyalty just doesn't make a lot of sense anymore as any brand or display is really just about as likely to have issues as any other brand or display. With maybe RCA being more prone to issues, but most others really come out even when the statistics of failure are concerned.

A 56" Samsung display just may fit into the desired space better than a larger one, there can be remote and feature differences as well, that would make one gravitate to the smaller Samsung over a larger Toshiba as well. Also, picture quality is somewhat subjective, somebody may also like Samsung's color or picture better, and another may like Toshiba better.