What's new

10 questions from a newbie. (1 Viewer)

ChuckM

Stunt Coordinator
I'm a newbie in the realm of home theater and I am thinking about buying a surround sound system, but I have many questions.
Questions:
1. Which of these is the better sytem the Kenwood HTB-205 or the Sony HTD-DW840.
2. HTB-205 comes with a 100 watt passive subwoofer (aka no RCA input) for a guy who is not much for big bass would this be sufficent.
3. Can you buy passive subwoofers.
4. HTB-205 receiver 500 watts x 5, but it comes with small satellite speakers. If I upgraded to a couple of tall speakers would it make a difference even though it would be the same wattage.
5. What is best type among one-way, two-way, and three-way speakers.
6. With higher wattage does it take less volume to hear full dynamic range.
7. Is it possible to use a Y-spliter on a coaxial digital in as long as only one unit is using it at a time or is their switch box for this.
8. Is dolby Pro Logic II any better then Pro Logic.
9. My current surround sound system consist of a cambridge soundworks four point speakers, and the speaker of my TV for the center (no sub).All of this comes out through the rca outs on my Apex-800 (Comes with its own dolby decoder). In all my surround sound system only have about 40 watts. will going from 40 watts with no sub to a 600 watt complete system show a HUGE!! difference.
10. If you know any other good systems or know a good way to build one for under $400 I would appreciate the info.
TIA :)
Chuck

ColinM

Senior HTF Member
1. Sony (Guessing, haven't heard either)

2. Maybe...receiver's with the sub amp built in are rare, and we prefer an RCA jack for a powered sub. If Kenny had that jack, no worries. But it doesn't so you'd be stuck with a passive powered by the Kenwood, unless you go another route - using a powered sub's speaker wire crossover. I'd go Sony here...

3. Yes, but they are usually big and bad (good) and need big amps. USUALLY...