Veritas Backup Exec for 2000 Advanced Server anything cheaper and good?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by KyleS, Jul 23, 2002.

  1. KyleS

    KyleS Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Heading says it all I have a client that about had a heart attack when they saw the price on V8.6 of Backup Exec that would work with Windows 2000 Advanced Server for a Travin tape backup 10/20gb SCSI. It would need to backup its drive and 20 workstations and be $800 or less. Anyone know of anything? Will the backup.app program that comes with Windows 2000 get the job done (I dont think so for other computers but correct me if I am wrong). Sounds terrible that they have the money to pay for 2000 Advanced Server and a nice server but skimp on the backup software. Any help is greatly appreciated.

    KyleS
     
  2. Shayne Lebrun

    Shayne Lebrun Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 1999
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ask them how much it would cost for a good chunk of their data to simply BE GONE one day. Get that in writing. Then, get the best backup system they can for that.

    My last job, I managed to get a Dell PowerVault 130T tape vault; 4(!) DLTIV drives, 28 DLT tape slots, and a robot arm. We then plugged in Veritas Backup Exec, and all of the sweet agents; SQL Server, Exchange, Solaris, and so on.

    Sure, they complained about the cost. But when they later noticed that it meant that when somebody erased something they shouldn't have, the downtime was literally limited to 'how long it takes to wander over to Shayne's desk, or page him, explain what happened, watch him fire up the BE Admin, find the appropriate files, and hit 'restore'' they were pretty happy.

    I'm likely preaching to the choir here, but backups are NOT something you fuck around with.
     
  3. Chris

    Chris Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 1997
    Messages:
    6,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been an administrator at a large scale medical facility. Redundant backups were (and are) critically important. Veritas was not a choice we made (we left that product) and we also left ArcServe 2000, which was not the product we used.
    What did we do?
    We picked up a product that changed the way we backed up (and I am not getting paid crap to say this) called Retrospect.. http://www.dantz.com/ Retrospect RULES. With Retrospect, we were able to backup all servers, cheaply. We kept two external Firewire hard drives that it backed up to every night as complete images - an entire network backup was done in less then 2 hours, along with our exchange servers. One drive was moved off site while the others worked.
    We kept tape sets using DLT. There was never a question about redundancy, and we were able to store MONTHS of backups, online, for restoral, at any point. Need to go back 4 months? No problem, and restore was so fast it would turn your head.
     
  4. Kolya

    Kolya Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2001
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use Veritas BE 8.6 to backup several Win2k A/S, Exchange, and SQL Servers. The physical media is an Onstream ADR2.60 (30GB uncompressed).

    It's been worth every penny.
     
  5. Steven K

    Steven K Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2000
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    NetApp makes a decent product...
    of course, there is always EMC [​IMG]
     
  6. KyleS

    KyleS Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  7. KyleS

    KyleS Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  8. Brett DiMichele

    Brett DiMichele Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I run Veritas b.e. at work. I use it to schedule and monitor
    backups on varying platforms and varying drives. Mainly
    we use ibm DDS4 drives but I also use some Exabyte and DLT's
    It works well.. For my needs.. Of course most of our 400+
    local servers back up to ibm ADSM via Tivoli TSM which is
    a complete and utter piece of trash IMHO... TSM is suposed
    to be "automated" and I still spend hours each morning
    manually re running backups that miss,fail,pending etc..
    I guess some of this could be placed on Small Systems for
    poor administration on the servers.. [​IMG]
     
  9. Chris

    Chris Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 1997
    Messages:
    6,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In a network, why would you use Retrospect Express? Retrospect Network edition is cheap, and supports SCSI tape drives and auto-loaders. We have it working a DLT1 changer from Dell.
    If you go to their chart, only Express doesn't support SCSI, it's the cheap (sub $70) version, and definitely wouldn't be what you'd run in a network.
    http://www.dantz.com/index.php3?SCRE...0i3YHr8koVsy7b
    For $15 more, you can get the Desktop edition, which does support auto-loaders and SCSI devices. And even their big-boy versions are far less then Veritas or ArcServe (now Brightstor)
     

Share This Page