What's new

Separates (1 Viewer)

I'm a bit new to Amps and other High End power sources. Could someone help me understand the need for a preamp?

Also, most amps that I've seen rarely push more than 75-100 watts, but there are speakers that take 250. I understand the whole (twice the watts doesn't = twice the SPLs)

Is there a good FAQ on Separates, Amps, and PreAmps; if not, could someone just speak on the issue a bit.

Thanks!

DanaA

Screenwriter
In the Home Theater Basics area, there is a guide for beginners. You might want to check that out. Here's what Cees, a moderator here, gives as the functions of source, processor, preamp, and amp:

" Audio signals come from a source (CD player, DVD player, VHS player), then go to a processor to have it divided for multichannel output (Dolby Surround, DTS, Dolby Digital). Then go to pre-amplifier to get some corrections and make it a standard level (also may have treble and bass regulated- as well as overall volume level), then go to (power-) amplifiers who produce power (voltage times current), so it can drive a speaker and make a lot of noise.

If the pre-amplifier and the amplifiers are combined (together with a processor and a radio-tuner as well), it's called a receiver. This is the most common solution in a HT. Therefore, if the power-amplifiers are not all inside a receiver, but apart, that's called separates."

Now me talking:

Generally, separates cost more to begin with, but offer more flexibility and can actually save you money down the line. Separates are also, for the most part, better sounding than all but a few receivers. A lot of people who use separates state they will never go back to the all-in-one receiver. Here's an article that might explain why separates are usually, not necessarily always, better.
Click Here