Question regarding “TV/HDTV” slider on XBox360.

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by John Pine, Apr 24, 2006.

Tags:
  1. John Pine

    John Pine Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    John Pine
    Just bought one with the h/d installed. I have a mid priced Toshiba 27” CRT that has the three component video connections. I’m using the “TV” position now and the graphics seem very good. Should I use the “HDTV” position instead?
     
  2. Romier S

    Romier S Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 1999
    Messages:
    3,526
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does your set support high definition resolutions such as 720p or 1080i? Or perhaps EDTV (480p)? If so, you'll want to set the proper resolution in the Xbox dashboard and set that switch of to the HD position so that it displays properly. Without setting that switch, you are relegating the console to display at normal interlaced resolutions.
     
  3. John Pine

    John Pine Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    John Pine
    I don't believe it does support 720p or 1080p, and I can't find the manual. I doubt it, it was only about a $300 set. It's more likely to support 480p, if that. I'll try Toshiba's website. Thanks for the feedback!
     
  4. John Pine

    John Pine Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    John Pine
  5. Romier S

    Romier S Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 1999
    Messages:
    3,526
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then you're ok with the current setting you have the switch set at John.
     
  6. John Pine

    John Pine Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    John Pine
    Thx!
     

Share This Page