No Sound From TV Speakers....I'm Wondering Why?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by David Von Pein, Jan 31, 2003.

  1. David Von Pein

    David Von Pein Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,748
    Likes Received:
    10
    Perhaps someone can help me here (I'm stupid by nature [​IMG] ) ......

    All of my video components funnel into just ONE audio input on my TV (Video 1), which provides NO sound through the TV's speakers.

    However, for some reason which I can't understand, while playing a DVD (through the very same Video 1 input source on the TV), the TV speakers DO provide sound.

    How can this be? [​IMG]

    Why am I getting TV speaker sound from DVDs, but NOT from OTA broadcasts or the VCR, which both are ALSO plugged into the "Video 1" audio jacks (routed through receiver)?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Paul Clarke

    Paul Clarke Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    David,

    I don't quite get your post. How do you have all of your various AV inputs going into Video 1? Do you mean that you choose to use only one AV input on the TV while others are available? You must use the Audio Out on the TV set for normal TV sound. Running that to the TV/SAT/DBS input on your receiver and using that selection when viewing will give you sound. Are there other inputs on the back of your TV set? You need to make use of them.
     
  3. David Von Pein

    David Von Pein Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,748
    Likes Received:
    10
     
  4. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,717
    Likes Received:
    463
    It's because you have the wrong thing hooked to the TV's input.

    The receiver should have a separate video/audio output, it's not Video1 or Video 2, or whatever. That's what needs to be connected to the TV's input. It's from that specific output of the receiver that will route all the other sources through the A/V output to feed into the TV's input.
     
  5. David Von Pein

    David Von Pein Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,748
    Likes Received:
    10
     
  6. Jeff Drumm

    Jeff Drumm Extra

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, there's still more to this than meets the eye. I just want to make sure we're all on the same wavelength here. Let me know if any of the statements below are false:
    • All video outputs from your DSS, DVD, VCR, etc. are connected to video inputs on your A/V receiver.
    • All *audio* outputs from those same devices are connected to *audio* inputs on the A/V reciever.
    • The receiver's video output is connected to the Video 1 input on the TV.
    • The A/V receiver's line-level audio output is connected to the set of audio inputs associated with the Video 1 connector on the TV.
    • When selecting which video source to view, you use the A/V receiver's input selection rather than the TV's.
    OK, if everything above is true, the receiver isn't routing audio appropriately when the input selection is made. This is probably a user misconfiguration on the reciever; most modern units allow you to assign which audio source is associated with each video source. Compound that with the possibility that some of your sources are digital TOSLink optical or coax connections, and whether you use that or analog audio input from your components is also selectable.

    I'd dig out the manual for the receiver . . .

    --
    - Jeff
     
  7. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,717
    Likes Received:
    463
    If your receiver doesn't have a separate A/V output strictly for the TV Monitor hookup, then you are using the A/V output for the receiver's Video 1 input/output (which is only going to have DVD audio coming out of it). The Monitor A/V output is where all of the video sources and audio sources are funneled through the receiver into a monitor/TV.

    I think you have an older DPL receiver, not a more modern DD/dts receiver. Tell us which model you have.

    It may be that your old receiver is only capable of funnelling the various Video sources through the receiver's Video output (my old Kenwood Dolby Surround receiver was like this), but when it comes to funnelling the audio, there is no separate audio output, and the receiver was relying on people to simply play the audio through the receiver's hook-up to the speaker, not also feed the TV's audio inputs.

    For the older DPL receivers (and current DD/dts receivers) It was common for the receiver's Video 1 and Video 2 connections to have both inputs and outputs (for connecting to VCRs that would accept the inputs to record from other sources connected to the receiver's other inputs). If you have hooked up the Video 1's audio output to the TV, and Video 1 is the DVD connection, that explains why you only get DVD audio. When you switch the Receiver's input to DSS, the video is switched out on the TV monitor output, but then the DVD audio is switched off because the receiver has switched to the DSS audio output, which has no audio output connected directly to the TV.

    If you have a Tape loop hookup, then hook up the Tape's audio output to the TV's Video 1 audio input. That output should funnel any input's audio feed chosen on the receiver to the TV's Video 1 audio input.
     
  8. David Von Pein

    David Von Pein Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,748
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thanks very much, Jeff and Patrick, for your detailed posts.

    I understand much more clearly now (I think [​IMG]).

    Patrick...Yes, you guessed correctly. I have an older Pro-Logic Receiver, which I like very much (good processor of sound). And, yes, you're right, in that there are not separate audio outputs on the receiver. Just one "Audio Out". ... Which, incidentally, is labelled as the "VCR Audio Out" output. Which is another reason why I was so perplexed as to WHY, when viewing a VHS tape, I'm getting no TV sound, when the output is routed specifically through a "VCR" labelled jack. But, evidently, it's just a label and not accurate.

     
  9. David Von Pein

    David Von Pein Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,748
    Likes Received:
    10
     
  10. Jeff Drumm

    Jeff Drumm Extra

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Optimus is a Radio Shack brand . . . I checked their web site, and they've got manuals/troubleshooting tips/parts lists for some of the "surrounding" model numbers but not the STAV-3560. Maybe one of the models close in number to what you've got might have an owner's manual suitable?

    Don't know why DVD would be the only choice they'd pipe to the VCR audio out . . . wierd.

    Time to relegate the receiver to the listening room, and get something new for the theater? [​IMG]

    --
    - Jeff
     
  11. David Von Pein

    David Von Pein Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,748
    Likes Received:
    10
     
  12. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,717
    Likes Received:
    463
    Is there no TAPE Line Output?
     
  13. David Von Pein

    David Von Pein Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,748
    Likes Received:
    10
     
  14. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,717
    Likes Received:
    463
    How many inputs? You're going to have to move the DVD A/V input to a different input on the receiver for that one output to route the audio correctly (maybe).

    Otherwise, you're stuck with an old receiver that was designed poorly, or was never intended on allowing audio to be switched through the preout, and reliant of just routing the audio per input by powering the speakers.
     

Share This Page