What's new

Car subwoofer for ht use? (1 Viewer)

Jared_C

Stunt Coordinator
I am relatively new to ht, former car audio enthusiest mainly. Anyways, i have been looking at powered subs for my ht and can't believe the outrageous prices some of them cost. My question is simple, can a car sub such as ma audio, infinity, diamond, etc achieve the same with an amp as a ht sub? I guess what i'm trying to say is are there any drastic differences between the two?

Jack Briggs

Senior HTF Member
Car speakers are engineered to sound decent in a very enclosed space. A sub made for such an application is not designed to operate in a more spacious home environment.

BrianWoerndle

Supporting Actor
I guess what i'm trying to say is are there any drastic differences between the two?
Yes. Car subs are meant to be put in an enclosed trunk, not a big open room. They usually run at 2 ohms, which normal HT runs at 8. Amps that power car subs are designed to output 2 ohms, and hook up to head units, not a HT receiver. And most of all, car subs sound horrible. It is not a big deal in a small space with road noise an such, but in a room they are very boomy and sloppy. Most overemphise 30-40hz, and do not go much below that. A good HT sub trys to be flat from 20hz, which is better for movies.

So would it work? probably, but it wouldn't sound very good. HT subs are expensive because it is very hard to get good clean response from 20hz in a big room while retaining the detail in a movie. (The music in cars doesn't need to be very precise because it is just a bloated beat anyway)

Ryan Schnacke

Supporting Actor
"And most of all, car subs sound horrible."

Well, not all car subs are bad. And often times when they do sound bad its more a function of the enclosure than the actual driver. A great driver in a bad alignment is going to sound bad. And what sounds good to a car audio guy may sound terrible to a home theater guy.