What's new

Question about compatible file formats for most BD players (1 Viewer)

Carabimero

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Alan
All of my BD players are also data players which will play virtually anything. I have no experience with ordinary BD players, if there is such a thing.

I'm walking into a situation blind where I would like to play an HD file but I am not sure of the model of the player I will be stuck with. Unfortunately as I am traveling I am not in a situation where I can author a proper BD disc in time. I was told I cannot interface with my laptop. All the information I could get is that there is a Blu-ray player set up for my use. I am going in with an MPEG-2 DVD that will play as a backup but would prefer to project my presentation in HD using a DVD 5 with a data file burned onto it. Is an MKV data file most likely to be compatible with a majority of BD players? I figured x264 mp4 and MKV, all at 1080, are my best bets.

I'd appreciate any help I can get. Thanks.

Josh Steinberg

Premium
Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Josh Steinberg
Carabimero said:
All of my BD players are also data players which will play virtually anything. I have no experience with ordinary BD players, if there is such a thing.

I'm walking into a situation blind where I would like to play an HD file but I am not sure of the model of the player I will be stuck with. Unfortunately as I am traveling I am not in a situation where I can author a proper BD disc in time. I was told I cannot interface with my laptop. All the information I could get is that there is a Blu-ray player set up for my use. I am going in with an MPEG-2 DVD that will play as a backup but would prefer to project my presentation in HD using a DVD 5 with a data file burned onto it. Is an MKV data file most likely to be compatible with a majority of BD players? I figured x264 mp4 and MKV, all at 1080, are my best bets.

I'd appreciate any help I can get. Thanks.