-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Power Setup and equipment for home theater build


Best Answer schan1269 , July 06 2014 - 12:41 PM

That is also why buying a dedicated 2 channel amp is worth it. Your AVR probably can do 130x3. So, if you bought a 150x2 amp...

If 690 isn't enough...you are just trying to go deaf. Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#21 of 27 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted July 06 2014 - 05:37 PM

A couple Emotivas to consider...

https://emotiva.com/...lifiers/xpa-200

https://emotiva.com/...mplifiers/xpa-3


BTW, I just glanced at your Sub thread and my personal opinion is that if I was putting that much into an HT, I'd look beyond using a receiver. Unless you want up-to-the-second processing, the rest of the system you are putting together deserves separates.


The latest gee-whiz bang pre-pro isn't out yet. That would be the newest Onkyo PRC model.

I'm sure owners of Marantz latest/greatest are hoping for firmware to match the upcoming Onkyo (which Integra will likely get a version) .

#22 of 27 OFFLINE   Highplainsdakota

Highplainsdakota

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 56 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 30 2014
  • Real Name:Brian

Posted July 06 2014 - 07:21 PM

Interesting thought.  I guess I stopped by my local AV store and they sell McIntosh amps and prices were off putting.  I'll look elsewhere as you suggested. 

 

Again, big thanks to you, Robert, and Sam for the info.  I wouldn't have tackled this otherwise, and I'm going to end up with a much better HT.



#23 of 27 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted July 06 2014 - 08:01 PM

Interesting thought. I guess I stopped by my local AV store and they sell McIntosh amps and prices were off putting. I'll look elsewhere as you suggested.

Again, big thanks to you, Robert, and Sam for the info. I wouldn't have tackled this otherwise, and I'm going to end up with a much better HT.

You want a bit of "feeling inadequate" ...

Stop by the Wilson Audio website and check out some of the theatre pics in their gallery.

(My favorite is the 3rd row, third pic. Blue speakers and amps...out on the floor)

#24 of 27 OFFLINE   JohnRice

JohnRice

    Lead Actor

  • 8,570 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 20 2000
  • Real Name:John

Posted July 07 2014 - 06:12 AM

Brian, it's just a thought, and something you can try later.  So long as you have a receiver with pre-outs for at least L&R, it's always an option.  No matter how much research you put into it, once things are running, you'll want to make changes.


The Hybrid System

The Music Part: Emotiva XSP-1, Thiel CS 3.6, Emotiva XPA-2, Marantz SA8004, Emotiva ERC-3, SVS PB-12 Plus 2

The Surround Part: Sherbourn PT-7030, Thiel SCS3, Emotiva XPA-5, Polk & Emotiva Surrounds.


#25 of 27 OFFLINE   Highplainsdakota

Highplainsdakota

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 56 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 30 2014
  • Real Name:Brian

Posted July 07 2014 - 11:08 AM

Thanks again.  That's probably what I'll do.  I have an "ideal" now written down, and I'll buy the parts as I see fit. 

 

One last topic we haven't touched on, I don't have a rack for all my components.  I'm not going to have room on my walls to flush mount anything, even though I have a storage room behind two of the walls.  I'd rather put room treatment pannels there for better sound.  I think I'll put a rack just inside the door of the storage room for quick access, and use a universal remote system to access my components.

 

Few if any of my current components are rack mountable, though I think I'll try buy those from now on if possible, especially amps. 

 

Any rack systems come to mind that you like?  I need some shelves for xbox, receiver, cable box, etc, and hopefully room to mount separates.



#26 of 27 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted July 07 2014 - 03:26 PM

Unless I'm dreaming, your 50.1 can have rack ears put on it.

I usually let the store where the equipment is bought provide a rack.

Those things have a stupid high markup, so if you buy some amps...ask them to give you one. (You'll be shocked how fast they'll drop one to cost or below if you go..."hmmmm, I need a rack for this $1000 amp and $1400 AVR" )

#27 of 27 OFFLINE   Highplainsdakota

Highplainsdakota

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 56 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 30 2014
  • Real Name:Brian

Posted July 07 2014 - 03:41 PM

Great advice. 






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users