Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

How to get 5.1 when connecting laptop to TV (through HDMI) to home theater system?


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 of 25 retaeht

retaeht

    Agent

  • 36 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 15 2014
  • Real Name:Edward

Posted February 15 2014 - 04:35 PM

When I connect my laptop to my tv (which is hooked up to my home theater system) through hdmi, my laptop only "sees" the tv's stereo speakers so it won't allow me to configure surround sound. What can I do for this to work?

Thanks.



#2 of 25 JohnRice

JohnRice

    Lead Actor

  • 8,457 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 20 2000
  • Real Name:John

Posted February 15 2014 - 05:12 PM

TVs are 2 channel, which is probably why the computer sees it that way. They also almost always down convert their audio output from hdmi in (even digital out) to 2 channel. So, you need to feed the hdmi to the surround system, then to the TV to get surround sound.


The Hybrid System

The Music Part: Emotiva XSP-1, Thiel CS 3.6, Emotiva XPA-2, Marantz SA8004, Emotiva ERC-3, SVS PB-12 Plus 2

The Surround Part: Sherbourn PT-7030, Thiel SCS3, Emotiva XPA-5, Polk & Emotiva Surrounds.


#3 of 25 retaeht

retaeht

    Agent

  • 36 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 15 2014
  • Real Name:Edward

Posted February 15 2014 - 06:27 PM

Thanks for your reply. I'm not sure my surround system has HDMI (it's about 10 years old), is there any other way?

#4 of 25 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,906 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted February 15 2014 - 06:37 PM

Thanks for your reply. I'm not sure my surround system has HDMI (it's about 10 years old), is there any other way?

Only if...

Your laptop has 6 channel analog...(and if whatever this sound system is...has 6 channel)
Or
Mini-toslink.

#5 of 25 JohnRice

JohnRice

    Lead Actor

  • 8,457 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 20 2000
  • Real Name:John

Posted February 15 2014 - 06:47 PM

Then it probably doesn't.  So, you would use a digital optical output on your laptop, if it has one, and connect that to your HT, or you would get a usb adapter that has one designed for surround sound.  There are probably several, but here's one I found...

 

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B002U3I7CS


The Hybrid System

The Music Part: Emotiva XSP-1, Thiel CS 3.6, Emotiva XPA-2, Marantz SA8004, Emotiva ERC-3, SVS PB-12 Plus 2

The Surround Part: Sherbourn PT-7030, Thiel SCS3, Emotiva XPA-5, Polk & Emotiva Surrounds.


#6 of 25 retaeht

retaeht

    Agent

  • 36 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 15 2014
  • Real Name:Edward

Posted February 15 2014 - 06:51 PM

Damn. That sucks, I was hoping I could get away without having to buy anything...

#7 of 25 JohnRice

JohnRice

    Lead Actor

  • 8,457 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 20 2000
  • Real Name:John

Posted February 15 2014 - 06:53 PM

BTW, if it's a Mac, it has an optical output that plugs in the same place as headphones or speakers, using a special optical cable like this...

 

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000FMXKC8/

 

If it's Windows, it might, but probably doesn't have that and the adapter in my last post should do the trick.


The Hybrid System

The Music Part: Emotiva XSP-1, Thiel CS 3.6, Emotiva XPA-2, Marantz SA8004, Emotiva ERC-3, SVS PB-12 Plus 2

The Surround Part: Sherbourn PT-7030, Thiel SCS3, Emotiva XPA-5, Polk & Emotiva Surrounds.


#8 of 25 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,906 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted February 15 2014 - 06:53 PM

Since when does optical carry 7.1?

#9 of 25 retaeht

retaeht

    Agent

  • 36 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 15 2014
  • Real Name:Edward

Posted February 15 2014 - 06:55 PM

When I tried it earlier with PC->TV->5.1 there seemed to be a difference between what was happening in front left speaker and back left speaker, but wasn't noticeable when listening to whole set-up (used VLC, didn't work with Windows Media Player) and the sound settings on laptop were stereo (can't change to 5.1). Could there actually be a way around having to buy more equipment?

#10 of 25 retaeht

retaeht

    Agent

  • 36 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 15 2014
  • Real Name:Edward

Posted February 15 2014 - 06:58 PM

Would the optical cables deteriorate the sound quality?



#11 of 25 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,906 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted February 15 2014 - 06:59 PM

When I tried it earlier with PC->TV->5.1 there seemed to be a difference between what was happening in front left speaker and back left speaker, but wasn't noticeable when listening to whole set-up (used VLC, didn't work with Windows Media Player) and the sound settings on laptop were stereo (can't change to 5.1). Could there actually be a way around having to buy more equipment?


The only way to know that...

What computer is this since we can't give you any answers what so ever, without knowing.

Mac?
PC on Vista? 7? 8?

What is this sound system?

#12 of 25 retaeht

retaeht

    Agent

  • 36 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 15 2014
  • Real Name:Edward

Posted February 15 2014 - 07:01 PM

HP G71 Windows 7.



#13 of 25 retaeht

retaeht

    Agent

  • 36 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 15 2014
  • Real Name:Edward

Posted February 15 2014 - 07:02 PM

I'm not sure what sound system it is, the logo is worn off and I bought it 10 years ago. I'll check later if it has HDMI but I highly doubt that it does.



#14 of 25 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,906 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted February 15 2014 - 07:03 PM

HP G71 Windows 7.


In your sound settings...

You have

"Internal speakers"
HDMI
"Some setting for headphone"

The "some setting for headphone", is one them optical?

#15 of 25 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,906 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted February 15 2014 - 07:05 PM

I'm not sure what sound system it is, the logo is worn off and I bought it 10 years ago. I'll check later if it has HDMI but I highly doubt that it does.

There should be a model number plaque on the back.

If this is a HTiB, it probably only deciphers 2.0 pcm and 5.1 DD.

#16 of 25 JohnRice

JohnRice

    Lead Actor

  • 8,457 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 20 2000
  • Real Name:John

Posted February 15 2014 - 07:06 PM

Apparently that unit is "virtual" surround, so it isn't the solution...

 

http://www.performan...oducts_id=26595

 

HP doesn't indicate it has an optical output, so I doubt it can be done without an external usb device.


The Hybrid System

The Music Part: Emotiva XSP-1, Thiel CS 3.6, Emotiva XPA-2, Marantz SA8004, Emotiva ERC-3, SVS PB-12 Plus 2

The Surround Part: Sherbourn PT-7030, Thiel SCS3, Emotiva XPA-5, Polk & Emotiva Surrounds.


#17 of 25 JohnRice

JohnRice

    Lead Actor

  • 8,457 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 20 2000
  • Real Name:John

Posted February 15 2014 - 07:08 PM

Anyway, there are too many cooks in the kitchen and I hate to intrude on the HTF monopolization.  So, I'll move on.


The Hybrid System

The Music Part: Emotiva XSP-1, Thiel CS 3.6, Emotiva XPA-2, Marantz SA8004, Emotiva ERC-3, SVS PB-12 Plus 2

The Surround Part: Sherbourn PT-7030, Thiel SCS3, Emotiva XPA-5, Polk & Emotiva Surrounds.


#18 of 25 retaeht

retaeht

    Agent

  • 36 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 15 2014
  • Real Name:Edward

Posted February 15 2014 - 07:09 PM

Is the problem then with the laptop?



#19 of 25 retaeht

retaeht

    Agent

  • 36 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 15 2014
  • Real Name:Edward

Posted February 15 2014 - 07:10 PM

And I couldn't find any optical settings for headphone jack.



#20 of 25 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,906 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted February 15 2014 - 07:16 PM

I can't find out if g71 had mini-toslink either. There are too many subset versions.

If your laptop doesn't have mini-toslink, you'll need a usb/mini-toslink.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users