How to get 5.1 when connecting laptop to TV (through HDMI) to home theater system?

Discussion in 'Home Theater PCs' started by retaeht, Feb 15, 2014.

  1. retaeht

    retaeht Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Edward
    When I connect my laptop to my tv (which is hooked up to my home theater system) through hdmi, my laptop only "sees" the tv's stereo speakers so it won't allow me to configure surround sound. What can I do for this to work?
    Thanks.
     
  2. JohnRice

    JohnRice Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    8,791
    Likes Received:
    201
    Real Name:
    John
    TVs are 2 channel, which is probably why the computer sees it that way. They also almost always down convert their audio output from hdmi in (even digital out) to 2 channel. So, you need to feed the hdmi to the surround system, then to the TV to get surround sound.
     
  3. retaeht

    retaeht Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Edward
    Thanks for your reply. I'm not sure my surround system has HDMI (it's about 10 years old), is there any other way?
     
  4. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Only if...Your laptop has 6 channel analog...(and if whatever this sound system is...has 6 channel) OrMini-toslink.
     
  5. JohnRice

    JohnRice Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    8,791
    Likes Received:
    201
    Real Name:
    John
    Then it probably doesn't. So, you would use a digital optical output on your laptop, if it has one, and connect that to your HT, or you would get a usb adapter that has one designed for surround sound. There are probably several, but here's one I found...

    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B002U3I7CS
     
  6. retaeht

    retaeht Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Edward
    Damn. That sucks, I was hoping I could get away without having to buy anything...
     
  7. JohnRice

    JohnRice Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    8,791
    Likes Received:
    201
    Real Name:
    John
    BTW, if it's a Mac, it has an optical output that plugs in the same place as headphones or speakers, using a special optical cable like this...

    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000FMXKC8/

    If it's Windows, it might, but probably doesn't have that and the adapter in my last post should do the trick.
     
  8. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Since when does optical carry 7.1?
     
  9. retaeht

    retaeht Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Edward
    When I tried it earlier with PC->TV->5.1 there seemed to be a difference between what was happening in front left speaker and back left speaker, but wasn't noticeable when listening to whole set-up (used VLC, didn't work with Windows Media Player) and the sound settings on laptop were stereo (can't change to 5.1). Could there actually be a way around having to buy more equipment?
     
  10. retaeht

    retaeht Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Edward
    Would the optical cables deteriorate the sound quality?
     
  11. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    The only way to know that...What computer is this since we can't give you any answers what so ever, without knowing.Mac?PC on Vista? 7? 8?What is this sound system?
     
  12. retaeht

    retaeht Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Edward
    HP G71 Windows 7.
     
  13. retaeht

    retaeht Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Edward
    I'm not sure what sound system it is, the logo is worn off and I bought it 10 years ago. I'll check later if it has HDMI but I highly doubt that it does.
     
  14. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    In your sound settings...You have "Internal speakers"HDMI "Some setting for headphone" The "some setting for headphone", is one them optical?
     
  15. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    There should be a model number plaque on the back.If this is a HTiB, it probably only deciphers 2.0 pcm and 5.1 DD.
     
  16. JohnRice

    JohnRice Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    8,791
    Likes Received:
    201
    Real Name:
    John
  17. JohnRice

    JohnRice Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    8,791
    Likes Received:
    201
    Real Name:
    John
    Anyway, there are too many cooks in the kitchen and I hate to intrude on the HTF monopolization. So, I'll move on.
     
  18. retaeht

    retaeht Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Edward
    Is the problem then with the laptop?
     
  19. retaeht

    retaeht Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Edward
    And I couldn't find any optical settings for headphone jack.
     
  20. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    I can't find out if g71 had mini-toslink either. There are too many subset versions.If your laptop doesn't have mini-toslink, you'll need a usb/mini-toslink.
     

Share This Page