What's new

Wireless subwoofer & wireless rear speaker options? (1 Viewer)

CrayZT415

Auditioning
Real Name
Zach
Hello, new to the forum. Came here based on recommendation and after reading some posts I think I came to the right place.

My wife is having a custom-made entertainment center built into our living room once we purchase a home theater system. This is all fine and dandy until she tells me there will be no room for a subwoofer near the TV (will probably end up in the back of the room) and she doesn't want to see any wires. When I started to do some research and got overwhelmed trying to piece together a new system that has both a wireless subwoofer and wireless rear speakers.

Our budget is around 1K, a little flexible upwards if need be. Main purpose will be television/movies but it will also be used for gaming and music. Bluetooth is a huge bonus. Oh, and a sound bar is a no go.

I'm not very experienced with home theaters and I'm a total noob when it comes to anything wireless (I've always had wires for my home theater). I came here in hopes that I could get help figuring out how to piece together a system that will support the wireless sub and rear speakers.

Is this type of setup realistic? Is there a wireless module that would support both the sub and the rear speakers? And is there a certain type of AV Receiver I'd need to support this?

Anything kind of insight would be awesome.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
By the way. Not happening at 3 times your budget either.Lowest cost, New, AVR that "could" accomplish rear wireless, is the Onkyo 828. By itself. Over budget.

CrayZT415

Auditioning
Real Name
Zach
schan1269 said:
$1000 and wireless sub/rear?Not happening.
I kind of figured that would be the answer. Thanks for the reply. I have only two other choices here

1. Tell the wife to deal with a long wire for the sub (I seem to have less problems finding systems with wireless rear speakers only)