-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Pioneer vsx-421


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 rz500

rz500

    Auditioning

  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 12 2013
  • Real Name:Rozan mosho

Posted July 13 2013 - 01:23 AM

Hello,

 

I'm trying to control my TV through Pioneer VSX421 remote (or opposite). HDMI Control and ARC is on while my Samsung TV anynet+ is not recoginzing the reciever.

 

Connections are: many devices (apple TV, cable tv, etc.) are connected to reciever while from the HDMI out there is a connection to TV. Is there more efficient way to connect those devices?

 

Thanks for helping a beginner...:)

 



#2 of 6 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,288 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted July 13 2013 - 04:48 AM

What, exactly, are you trying to control? On and off?(which is all the "control" you need)
Channels?(are you using OTA?)
Web features?(which...depending which TV you have, must use its control)

And everything goes to the AVR first.

#3 of 6 rz500

rz500

    Auditioning

  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 12 2013
  • Real Name:Rozan mosho

Posted July 13 2013 - 05:03 AM

What, exactly, are you trying to control? On and off?(which is all the "control" you need)
Channels?(are you using OTA?)
Web features?(which...depending which TV you have, must use its control)

And everything goes to the AVR first.

Hi.

Everything does goes to AVR and then out to TV. Not sure what is OTA, probably not...

Trying to control on/off, volume, channels, etc. Basically want to use only one remote control (e.g. the AVR remote in order to control TV, AVR, etc.)

Thanks!



#4 of 6 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,288 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted July 13 2013 - 05:21 AM

Your AVR's remote looks too basic for that. You can't control a TV/cable box from a remote that has no learning/pre-programming.

Buy a universal remote.

#5 of 6 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,288 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted July 13 2013 - 05:31 AM

And it isn't just your AVR. Everybody's <$500 AVR comes with a basic "only controls itself" remote.

About the only brand out there that still cares to provide a decent remote is Onkyo/Integra. But even their <$400 AVR wouldn't have had anything beyond a basic.

#6 of 6 rz500

rz500

    Auditioning

  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 12 2013
  • Real Name:Rozan mosho

Posted July 13 2013 - 06:48 AM

And it isn't just your AVR. Everybody's <$500 AVR comes with a basic "only controls itself" remote.

About the only brand out there that still cares to provide a decent remote is Onkyo/Integra. But even their <$400 AVR wouldn't have had anything beyond a basic.

Thanks anyway :)






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users