What's new

Building a surround sound setup around Boston Acoustics T1000 Towers (1 Viewer)

SonicWomb

Auditioning
Real Name
Rhaegar Targaryen
I've just refoamed an old set of Boston Acoustics T1000 Towers, which I hope to use in a surround sound setup. Are these good speaker selections? I realize the tone won't match perfectly but these T1000 speakers are so awesome that to buy a whole matched surround sound set approaching their quality would be more than I want to spend. Front speakers: Boston Acoustics T1000 Center Channel: Boston Acoustics CRC 100 watt, used Rear surrounds: Fluance AVBP2 Bipolar Surround Sound Satellites The T1000s have nice, tight bass so I can skip the subwoofer for now and add one later if necessary. This is for an open room with a cathedral ceiling, so I'm thinking the bipolar surrounds will work well? I'm a noob at all this stuff so any suggests are greatly appreciated. For an AVR I'm leaning towards a Yamaha RX-V373 with a Denon 1612 as a second choice. Currenty my T1000 towers are driven by a Nakamichi TA-3A (recently recapped).

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
If you "have the cash"... Buy a receiver with pre-outs. (accessories4less has the Onkyo NR717 and NR709 as the cheapest "new" ones). Why? Your Nakamichi has "main in", which means with an AVR with pre-outs, you can keep the Nak as the amp for those...if you wish. You "could" leave the main in/out jumpers in place and run the AVR preout into one of the "other" inputs(not phono) and use the excellent phono input that I know that Nak has(that is if you actually have a turntable). There are a bunch of ways to use this Nak with an AVR...but the AVR needs pre-outs to make them work together... http://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/ONKTXNR709/Onkyo-TX-NR709-7.2-Channel-3-D-Ready-Network-A/V-Receiver/1.html

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam