What's new

Looking for SIDE surround speakers (1 Viewer)

KMAN

Auditioning
Real Name
Kelly
Frist I want to say Hi ! And I am a beginner to 7.1 I just redid my family room entertainment setup(in the basement). And I am looking to buy some what reasonable price for the side surround speakers. My old setup was 5.1. Here is what I have now Pioneer VSX-1325-K / Receiver Polk Audio (RTI10) / Front speakers ???????? /side surround speakers Paradigm Titans / Rears Kenwood 10505W 150 W / Self Powered Subwoofer Samsung UN55C6500 55" LED HDTV I was looking at the BOSE double cube speaker for their size. Here is some pics of what I am limited to. Thanks

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene
Another pair of Paradigms would be better but probably too large. I would get some Polk satillite speakers instead of Bose. They would match the fronts a little better. What center speaker do you have? It really needs to match the fronts as closely as possible. Matching the surrounds isn't as criticle but your winding up with a bunch of different brands. Speakers do sound different from one to another and your getting away from a cohesive sounding system by adding too many different brands. Nice room, though.

CB750

Screenwriter
Real Name
Bill
Welcome Kelly

I pretty much Ditto what Gene says. As far as Bose Cubes I would suggest that you make them your last choice as any part of a HT speaker system.

1. You do realize that ALL Bose cubes must be connected through the Bose Bass Module, failure to do so could damage your receiver unless it is designed to handle a 4 ohm or lower speaker.
  2. Most receiver auto room calibration software will not recognize Bose Speakers because they are connected through the Bass Module. You will have to calibrate the Bose speakers manually
  3. While timbre matching your surrounds and rear speakers is of less important than your front stage I can't think of any worse match to any other speaker than a Bose cube.