-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

How to make your Windows Media Center a real HD machine


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
102 replies to this topic

#1 of 103 mattCR

mattCR

    Lead Actor

  • 9,998 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted April 12 2010 - 12:04 PM

For those of us who've been using Media Center for a while, it's hard to understate how huge of a shift Windows7 was.  CODECs became built in, and while most of us still "tweak" for many, the fact that they were built in meant easy access to almost all content.  But as Media Center has grown, the community has developed tons of plugins, tools, etc. to do everything that they want.

Some of us use Home Server to store all of our information on (see my review also here) but one thing was lacking: how do we make our Media Centers real HD machines?

Two years ago AMD put out the first platform with native, hardware decoding of Bluray in an onboard chipset (780G) with minimal processor, decoding BD became smooth.  And thanks to several products (Arcsoft's TMT, or PowerDVD, your preference) playing BD within Media Center became possible.  But what the 780G (and later 785G) couldn't do was stream either LPCM or full-format bitstream to a receiver.

Last year, AMD introduced the ATI4xxx series cards, which became the first to pass full 7.1 LPCM channel audio to a receiver.  Close!  Then, at the end of last year, ATI Introduced the 5XXX series cards, and Intel introduced Clarksdale (i3/i5 on H55/H57 platform) chips which allowed for full bitstream audio of DTS-MA / DD-HD.

We haven't had a ton of real HTPC discussion hear because of guidelines, but in the last few weeks, Windows 7, through PDVD, became only the second outlet certified for 3D Bluray specification compliance.

So, I'm going to start this ongoing thread and try to keep it updated, and include pictures, guides, etc. on "tweaking out" a Windows Media Center.  :)

trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#2 of 103 mattCR

mattCR

    Lead Actor

  • 9,998 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted April 13 2010 - 02:12 AM

Current Supports (I'll keep adding to this later)

Chipset / Card DD / Digital Out (ST) True HD DTS-MA LPCM V: 24P (PROP)*** V: DXVA (HW) V: Type (IGP/PCI-E/AGP) DirectX Cost Available Software Support Model(s)
                           
 AMD 780G  YES - Over HDMI  NO  NO  2 CH  YES (10.2 CCC)  YES  IGP  10.1  50-100  ITX,ATX,MATX  PDVD, FFD, TMT3  ATI3200  
 AMD 785G  YES - Over HDMI  NO  NO  2 CH  YES (10.2 CCC)  YES  IGP  10.1  50-100  ATX,MATX (*ITX)  PDVD, FFD, TMT3, Win7 DTV  ATI4200  
 AMD 890GX  YES - Over HDMI  NO  NO  2 CH  YES (10.2 CCC)  YES  IGP  10.1  120-150  ATX  PDVD, FFD, TMT3, Win7 DTV  ATI4290  
 AMD760G  Yes*(1) - Over HDMI  NO  NO  2 CH  YES (10.2 CCC)  YES  IGP  10.1  40-70  ITX, MATX, ATX  PDVD, FFD, TMT3  ATI3000  
 ATI3XXX (PCI-E)  Yes - Over HDMI  NO  NO  2 CH  YES (10.2 CCC)   YES  PCI-E / AGP**  10.1  25-  PCI-E  PDVD, FFD, TMT3, Win7 DTV  -  
 ATI4XXX (PCI-E)  Yes - Over HDMI / Displayport  NO  NO  7.1 CH  YES (10.2 CCC)  YES  PCI-E  10.1/11**  40-  PCI-E  PDVD, FFD, TMT3, Win7 DTV    
 ATI5XXX (PCI-E)  Yes - Over HDMI / Displayport  YES  YES  7.1 CH  YES (10.3 CCC)  YES  PCI-E  11  50-  PCI-E  PDVD, FFD, TMT3, Win7 DTV    
 ATI6XXX (PCI-E)  Yes - Over HDMI / Displayport  YES  YES  7.1 CH  YES 11.3 CCC  YES  PCI-E  11  75-  PCI-E  PDVD, FFD, TMT5, Win7 DTV  
AMD Zacate  Yes - Over HDMI YES YES 7.1 CH  YES 11.3 CCC  YES  EPU (Processor Based)  11  100-  ITX, MATX  PDVD, FFD, TMT5, Win7 DTV  E350M
 Intel Sandy Bridge  Yes - Over HDMI  YES  YES  7.1 CH  NO (2)  YES  IGP / CPU  11  70-  ITX, MATX, ATX  PDVD, FFD, TMT5, Win7 DTV  i3/i5/i7 2XXX Series
 Intel G45  NO  NO  NO  NO  NO (2)  NO  IGP  9  DISC  ITX, MATX, ATX  (NO HW) FFD, PDVD    
 Intel H55/H57 (Clarksdale)  Yes - Over HDMI  YES  YES  7.1CH  NO (2)   YES  IGP / CPU  11  80-  ITX, MATX, ATX  PDVD, FFD, TMT3, Win7 DTV  530/540/650/661  
 Nvidia ION (NetTop)  YES - Over HDMI  NO  NO  2 CH  YES  YES  IGP / ATOM  10.1  80-  ITX, MATX  PDVD, FFD, TMT3    
 Nvidia 9XXX Chipset (INTEL)  YES - Over HDMI  NO  NO  2 CH  YES  YES  IGP  10.1  80-  MATX, ATX  PDVD, FFD, TMT3, Win7 DTV    
 Nvidia 8XXX Chipset (AMD)  YES - Over HDMI  NO  NO  2 CH  YES  YES  IGP  10.1  50-  MATX, ATX, (*iTX)  PDVD, FFD, TMT3, Win7 DTV    
 Nvidia 9XXX Video Cards NO ** (SPDIF Passthrough)  NO  NO  2 CH  YES  YES  IGP  10.1  35-  PCI-E  PDVD, FFD, TMT3, Win7 DTV    
Nvidia GT/GTX100 Series YES - Yes (HDMI or PT) NO NO   7.1 CH** YES YES PCI-E 11 35-  PCI-E  PDVD, FFD, TMT3, Win7 DTV    
Nvidia GT/GTX200 Series  YES - Over HDMI / Displayport  YES*** YES***  7.1 CH  YES  YES  PCI-E  11  35-  PCI-E  PDVD, FFD, TMT3, Win7 DTV    
Nvidia GT/GTX4XX Series  Yes - Over HDMI / Displayport  YES  YES  7.1 CH  YES  YES  PCI-E  11  150-  PCI-E  PDVD, FFD, TMT3, Win7 DTV,
 
Nvidia GT/GTX5XX Series  Yes - Over HDMI / Displayport  YES  YES  7.1 CH  YES  YES  PCI-E  11  300-  PCI-E  PDVD, FFD, TMT5, Win7 DTV  

Notes:

(1) 760G does not have a native Audio encoder per say, pass through is by onboard audio over SPDIF through HDMI.
(2) Intel has announced they do not believe that there is any issue/they have no planned support for 24P fix for their hardware.  So, this will never be resolved, AFAIK
(3) Nvidia 9XXX Video cards do not have native Audio Encoder, and pass through SPDIF via Internal loop cable, or the user must connect optical/coax from MB

(4) Later revisions of the GT2X and GT4X series Nvidia cards correctly pass DTS-MA/DD-HD

(5) Driver listed is the base driver to complete these functions.  It's assumed later drivers retain functionality.

Will update as we go along.  Updated: 4/28/2011


trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#3 of 103 mattCR

mattCR

    Lead Actor

  • 9,998 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted April 13 2010 - 03:54 AM

SOFTWARE SUPPORT

SOFTWARE 32 Bit 64 Bit DTSMA TrueHD LPCM MKV Support Play From Folder DXVA BD-3D
 Windows 7 Def  Y  Y  NO  NO  ??   NO*  YES (DVD)   Y   N
 FFDShow 32  Y  N  YES**  YES**  YES**   YES**  YES**   Y   N
 FFDShow 64  N   Y  YES**  YES**  YES**   YES**  YES**   Y  N
 Arcsoft TMT3  Y   N  NO(2)  YES  YES  YES***  YES   Y   N
Power DVD 10  Y  N  NO(2)  YES  YES  NO  NO  Y  Y
Arcsoft TMT5  Y  N  YES  YES  YES  YES  ***  Y  Y
PowerDVD 11  Y  N  YES  YES  YES  YES**  ***  Y  Y

* Windows 7 will decode content inside of an MKV (Container) it just needs a splitter, whether that's Haali or Gabest
** FFDShow is simply a CODEC manager.  It will support DTSMA is experimental.  TrueHD requires Hardware Support (see above), MKV requires a splitter .. Haali or Gabest

*** Arcsoft TMT3 originally supported MKV.   That feature has been removed.  Updates to the software may break that feature.

(2) Arsoft & PowerDVD10 at current both downmix the DTSMA signal to just the CORE, or when presented over LPCM 7.1, it remixes the rear channels from 5.1 (PDVD) which is not accurate.


trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#4 of 103 mattCR

mattCR

    Lead Actor

  • 9,998 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted April 13 2010 - 04:49 AM

List of Resources no HTPC Owner should be without:

www.Hack7MC.Com - links, guides, and tools to managing Windows 7 Media Center

TheGreenButton.Com - The Green Button, Microsoft's now official sponsored forum for tools for Media Center. 

MediaBrowser.TV - Media Browser, One of the best tools for quickly and easily organizing movies, TV, trailers, and podcasts into Media Center.

MyTV.SenseitWeb.Com - for those of us that save and organize TV, MyTV provides the easiest way, it also manages extraction and imports guide based metadata for easy organization, search, genre and que systems.  (Development)

Who says all Media Centers need to look the same?  Feel free to trick yours out with your own graphics/designs, thanks to Media Center Studio: http://www.adventmediacenter.com/

Want something really slick?  Try RemotePotato.  Fat Attitude's tool allows you to see your EPG from anywhere that has a web browser, using Silverlight you can set what you want to record while away, and now, in new versions, you can watch what you've recorded from anywhere.



Of course, make sure to grab plugins for NetFlix, if you're a subscribe it's worth it. 

trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#5 of 103 Stephen Orr

Stephen Orr

    Screenwriter

  • 1,105 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 14 1999

Posted April 13 2010 - 06:17 AM

Excellent thread. I have been using PowerDVD 9 Ultra for watching blu's through my WMC, and am considering updating to PD 10 Ultra in the next couple of days. And speaking of WMC7, I am having problems getting my Logitech Harmony 1000 to learn commands from my WMC remote. Any suggestions?  The Harmony firmware/software is up to date.  Thanks!


#6 of 103 mattCR

mattCR

    Lead Actor

  • 9,998 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted April 13 2010 - 06:29 AM

Yes.  Though it will cost you some small money.  Mine programmed flawlessly, but a friend's didn't.  I also believe Logitech has the MCE info for download and update now, so you can do that.

But it's much easier if you want it to learn to use the Media Center keyboard (about $27 anywhere) to program it rather then the MCE remote.

trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#7 of 103 Parker Clack

Parker Clack

    Executive Producer

  • 12,078 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 30 1997
  • Real Name:Parker
  • LocationKansas City, MO

Posted April 13 2010 - 06:57 AM

Matt:

Thanks for the thread.

I have an ATI 4350 that passes the audio over HDMI to my Pioneer Elite SC-05. Using TMT I am getting both DTS-MA and True HD according to the indicators on my Pioneer when playing back a Blu-ray disc.

Parker

"I tried to get my medical records from the company but they say they

are confidential and can only be released to other insurance companies,

pharmaceutical​ reps, suppliers of medical equipment and for some

reason the RNC."
 


#8 of 103 mattCR

mattCR

    Lead Actor

  • 9,998 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted April 13 2010 - 07:52 AM



Quote:
Originally Posted by Parker Clack 

Matt:

Thanks for the thread.

I have an ATI 4350 that passes the audio over HDMI to my Pioneer Elite SC-05. Using TMT I am getting both DTS-MA and True HD according to the indicators on my Pioneer when playing back a Blu-ray disc.

Parker
It's actually a bug in how the receivers detect the signal.  TMT (and no card) can pass 7 channels on the 4xxx series cards, because they don't have an audio codec to do it.. though they will do 7.1LPCM.  But they will pass the 640k "high rate" AC3 and DTS, which causes a lot of receivers to indicate wrong.. :(

So far, only the ATI5000 series, and Intel's H55 are the only display adapters/IGPs that are DTS-MA/TrueHD compliant.  The ATI 4350 is nothing to sneeze at.  For the most part, the output gets you 8 channel audio (LPCM) and 5 channel core at high bit rate. http://www.anandtech.com/show/2630/2


trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#9 of 103 Parker Clack

Parker Clack

    Executive Producer

  • 12,078 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 30 1997
  • Real Name:Parker
  • LocationKansas City, MO

Posted April 13 2010 - 10:11 AM

Matt:

Cool. So in the 5000 series do any of them have an HMDI out like the 4350 and do they only require a single PCIe slot? Also, is the Intel H55 a chipset that has to be included with the MoBo or do you have to have it at all if you have the 5000 series card?

Parker

"I tried to get my medical records from the company but they say they

are confidential and can only be released to other insurance companies,

pharmaceutical​ reps, suppliers of medical equipment and for some

reason the RNC."
 


#10 of 103 Parker Clack

Parker Clack

    Executive Producer

  • 12,078 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 30 1997
  • Real Name:Parker
  • LocationKansas City, MO

Posted April 13 2010 - 10:24 AM

Never mind. I found that my power supply is only 300W and the 5000 series requires at least a 500W or more.



"I tried to get my medical records from the company but they say they

are confidential and can only be released to other insurance companies,

pharmaceutical​ reps, suppliers of medical equipment and for some

reason the RNC."
 


#11 of 103 mattCR

mattCR

    Lead Actor

  • 9,998 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted April 13 2010 - 11:01 AM

The H55/H57 is a motherboard option.

As to your other: nope!  The ATI 5450 is a single slot, fanless solution which passes DTS-MA/DD-HD, and it doesn't have any power supply requirements.  It's a cheap card also, ou can find them in the $40-$55 range.  I should also add that unlike many other cards, it also properly flags DTS-EX (6.1) and DD-Plus (6.1) steams from DVD, which are often reduced in many other SPDIF implementations.  

Better, the 5450 will correctly pass 24P, and will also pass 120hz for full compatibility.  Great mix of all the standards at dirt cheap cost.


trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#12 of 103 mattCR

mattCR

    Lead Actor

  • 9,998 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted April 13 2010 - 11:08 AM

Parker, here you go: $44 card that does what you're after:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121365&cm_re=5450-_-14-121-365-_-Product

trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#13 of 103 Parker Clack

Parker Clack

    Executive Producer

  • 12,078 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 30 1997
  • Real Name:Parker
  • LocationKansas City, MO

Posted April 14 2010 - 05:37 AM

Matt:

According to ATI a 400 Watt or higher power supply is recommended. As I only have a 300W PS I don't think I would want to push trying a lower rated supply.

Newegg has upped the price to $64.99.

Like I said I am happy with my card as it is. 

Thanks for the suggestion though.



"I tried to get my medical records from the company but they say they

are confidential and can only be released to other insurance companies,

pharmaceutical​ reps, suppliers of medical equipment and for some

reason the RNC."
 


#14 of 103 mattCR

mattCR

    Lead Actor

  • 9,998 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted April 14 2010 - 08:21 AM

Unfortunately ATI's site hasn't updated to give the right information on the evergreen cards ;(  But the 4xxx series isn't bad.  It has the same video renderer, and outside of passing those two formats (which even though it does, it's still tricky) it does everything else.

But this summer people running MCE will get access to a few REALLY cool items which I think will stay in Windows 7 SP1, but may be seperate.  But there are some REALLY great tie ins something this summer that I think will really work out.

While I can't speak about two of them (damnit) there is one that I think is pretty public knowledge, and that's going to be the league and monitoring management options within media center for Fantasy Football players before the season.  And that is going to rock every FFL players socks.

trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#15 of 103 mattCR

mattCR

    Lead Actor

  • 9,998 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted April 15 2010 - 07:22 AM

CURRENT RECOMMENDS FOR BUDGETTING OF A HOME THEATER PC.  Just to note: yes, you can run a HTPC on much less, but I consider that in order to be a HTPC, the following standards must be met:

1.Must provide HDMI connectivity.
2.Must output 1080P and support DXVA hardware acceleration of HD Formats
3.Must output at least DD/DTS Core formats.
4.All of these also list assume the basic $29 Microsoft Media Center Remote Control.

BASIC:  $500 OR LESS

AMD 880G: A reliable HDMI output ready motherboard which supports DXVA, full HD, and DTS/DD core over HDMI.  Also onboard 8 channel audio for LPCM decoding if preferred.  $65.

AMD X2-250 Dual Core CPU: Dual core is more then enough to decode all of your movies, video, and content without ever feeling slow.  It also gives you enough "oomph" to do basic recoding in the background.  $60.

2GB DDR 2 Memory (many brands/types/etc.) normally available for about $25
500GB SATA: (many types) $44
Standard DVDRW: $22


Case: Silverstone GD4: http://www.newegg.co...-158-_-Product  ($99) Great case, available in many places has great look and works.

Power Supply: HEC base ATX: $22.00

Windows 7 Home Premium 32 or 64bit: $99


This is your cheapest option AT THIS POINT that I would recommend.


Next: Super-Mini


AMD has upped the ballgame with its new super-mini for HTPC.   That's the AMD Zacate.   Using about 18W of energy, this is a low power unit that passes DTS-MA/DD-HD or LPCM over HDMI.   Single board with processor in a MicroATX Format can be found for around $130.    This accomplishes everything and does it with so low of power usage that it's definitely a strong consider.   If you are looking for something super cheap + energy efficient + 1080P ready then this may be the right solution.


Stepping Up: The Full Monty HTPC


If you're going to spend on HTPC, you're either going to get a seperated video card (I recommend the ATI 5770 or up) or you'll look at this solution.   That's Intel's Sandy Bridge.   Now that Intel has fixed their issues with chipset, a 2400K (K is IMPORTANT here, it's the difference between HD2000 and HD3000 video). 

Using a 2400K Processor plus H65/H67 board, you get: DTS-MA, DD-HD, LPCM output over HDMI, Hardware accelerated 3D BD support, and normally enough slots to handle your media cards and components.  Keep your other configurations basically in line (4 Gig of RAM and 500GB should be the baseline, more if you are going to save a lot of TV, a lot more if you don't plan on using a NAS or WHS)




This week I'm going to go through the build outs on an AMD Zacate plus the build on an Intel  :)


THIS LIST IS UPDATED 4/2/2011


trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#16 of 103 mattCR

mattCR

    Lead Actor

  • 9,998 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted April 30 2010 - 10:23 AM

I had waited for some time because there was a planned release of a product I wanted to include for the mid-level unit, but it appears as though Intel will not get their H55/H57 chipset issue ever fixed with regards to how it puts out HD video.  This is a significantly screwup, and it's hard to recommend it as a mid-level box.  Most had been hopeful for something like this in the mid level, but without driver fixes coming, it's out.

So, I'll work on some listings for that.  But before I post up some mid-levels, here are some new things that are coming to MCE users this summer:

* For those that use NetFlix on Demand Via Silverlight, Netflix is preparing 720P, 5.1 Audio "On Demand" options for Media Center.   Updates are likely this summer.

If you're an iPhone fan (and we have a large Mac base here) but you run MCE for it's many niceties, there's an app for that:



trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#17 of 103 Parker Clack

Parker Clack

    Executive Producer

  • 12,078 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 30 1997
  • Real Name:Parker
  • LocationKansas City, MO

Posted May 01 2010 - 09:25 PM

Ok Matt what app is that?


"I tried to get my medical records from the company but they say they

are confidential and can only be released to other insurance companies,

pharmaceutical​ reps, suppliers of medical equipment and for some

reason the RNC."
 


#18 of 103 Scott Merryfield

Scott Merryfield

    Executive Producer

  • 10,383 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 16 1998
  • LocationMichigan

Posted May 26 2010 - 01:04 PM

I just purchased a new PC (Gateway with an AMD quad core processor and ATI video card), and added an LG Bluray burner as well. However, since Windows 7 does not yet support BD playback, I am stuck.


This is not a HTPC, but I would like to occasionally play a BD for viewing on the PC's monitor. Are there any inexpensive software player options available? I really do not want to spend $100 for PowerDVD just for occasional playback.


I cannot believe Microsoft left out support for BD in Media Player.



#19 of 103 mattCR

mattCR

    Lead Actor

  • 9,998 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted May 26 2010 - 04:08 PM


It's not that MS doesn't support it, it's that at the time of shipment (and even now) the licensing cost for it is fairly steep.  But don't worry, you don't have to spend a ton!


If you bought your PC with an LG burner, and they didn't give you the software (free) then you got ripped off.  LG normally ships with an OEM copy of PowerDVD BD edition free, with every single drive.

If you got ripped and they didn't give you that software (which, like I said, should come with every LG drive, I've checked everywhere online, they all do)  then you can grab the software that should have come with it for about $25:


http://www.infotechn...=7300&s=froogle


I do love the "I can't believe MS left out support.." then again, no other platform out there can even work with the drive media at all :)


trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#20 of 103 Scott Merryfield

Scott Merryfield

    Executive Producer

  • 10,383 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 16 1998
  • LocationMichigan

Posted May 26 2010 - 11:36 PM

Matt,


The LG BD burner I purchased was an OEM version through Newegg -- it did not come with anything (cables, software, etc.).


The link you provided to Cyberlink PowerDVD 7 does not indicate that it will run under Windows 7. It just lists Windows MCE, XP, 2000, ME.  The current release is version 10. However, Cyberlink's site does state Windows 7 support for version 7, so I assume it will work. The price is certainly much better than the current version.


Thanks for the link.