Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Major update to Carbon Copy Cloner


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
24 replies to this topic

#1 of 25 ONLINE   Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Executive Producer



  • 17,093 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted September 22 2009 - 10:50 PM

Fantastic new features!
http://www.bombich.com/ccc_features.html

Now allows easy 'bit level' copies of hard disks, should make for easy imaging of drives with Boot Camp partitions.

Will test it personally this weekend

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#2 of 25 ONLINE   Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Executive Producer



  • 17,093 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted September 23 2009 - 12:14 AM


Quote:

Can I use CCC to back up my BootCamp (Windows) partition?

Backing up non-HFS+-formatted volumes is not currently supported. I am investigating how to provide this support in a future release.

 

Er damn =(


I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#3 of 25 OFFLINE   Christian Behrens

Christian Behrens

    Supporting Actor



  • 712 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 02 2000

Posted September 23 2009 - 04:43 AM

That's what Winclone is for.

-Christian 
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." (Benjamin Franklin)

#4 of 25 ONLINE   Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Executive Producer



  • 17,093 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted September 23 2009 - 03:10 PM

Of course, and it's my tool of choice for that job.  But being able to do both at once would be something even better!

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#5 of 25 OFFLINE   Ted Todorov

Ted Todorov

    Screenwriter



  • 2,899 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 17 2000

Posted September 24 2009 - 03:16 AM

 I am shortly going to need either CCC or SuperDuper, as I am going to swap the boot disk on my MacPro for a higher capacity disk.  Which of the two should I get?
Hold on tightly, let go lightly.

 


#6 of 25 ONLINE   Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Executive Producer



  • 17,093 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted September 24 2009 - 05:04 AM

I love both but use CCC more

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#7 of 25 OFFLINE   Ted Todorov

Ted Todorov

    Screenwriter



  • 2,899 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 17 2000

Posted September 24 2009 - 05:53 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Posten View Post

I love both but use CCC more
Any particular reason?
Hold on tightly, let go lightly.

 


#8 of 25 ONLINE   Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Executive Producer



  • 17,093 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted September 24 2009 - 01:52 PM

It was easy to set up my automated nightly backups.

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#9 of 25 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Executive Producer



  • 14,318 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted September 26 2009 - 12:36 AM

I paid for SuperDuper! (two copies for home) and like it. I think when I was looking it had better info about its features and possibly was upgraded to 10.5 before CCC. I've been impressed by the support as well. I've emailed SuperDuper! several times about small and large questions and received personal responses within minutes in most cases and always within a day.

So I like SuperDuper! And it has a very useful free / unregistered mode.

But I have only heard good things about CCC and it is completely free.

You can't go wrong with either one.


#10 of 25 OFFLINE   Ted Todorov

Ted Todorov

    Screenwriter



  • 2,899 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 17 2000

Posted September 26 2009 - 01:00 AM

 Good to hear!  My 2TB WD Caviar Black disk to replace the 640GB stock boot drive on the MacPro is on its way.  My disk space need grows faster than Tribbles.



Hold on tightly, let go lightly.

 


#11 of 25 OFFLINE   Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul



  • 40,596 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted September 26 2009 - 07:16 AM

I never used Carbon Copy but am a huge fan of SuperDuper.
Has saved my butt many times.  Very easy to use and a
guarantee that once you do an initial backup you can easily
restore.

Only problem I find is that with the new versions of the
SuperDuper software they require a firewire drive to restore.
That wasn't always the case, and I hope I am wrong that
its the only option now.

 

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

 Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders  Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

 Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive Click Here for our complete DVD review archive

 Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule  Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#12 of 25 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Executive Producer



  • 14,318 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted September 26 2009 - 09:25 AM

SuperDuper works fine with USB drives.


#13 of 25 OFFLINE   Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul



  • 40,596 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted September 26 2009 - 09:59 AM

Dave,

Not 100% certain about that.

When I upgraded my desktop to Snow Leopard I decided
to go back to Leopard.

Using the new Snow Leopard compatible version of Super
Duper I attempted a bootup from my USB external. It would
not recognize the USB and asked for a firewire connection
instead.

I actually had to copy everything from my external USB
to an external FIREWIRE drive in order to do the restore.

 

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

 Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders  Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

 Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive Click Here for our complete DVD review archive

 Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule  Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#14 of 25 OFFLINE   Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul



  • 40,596 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted September 26 2009 - 10:20 AM

You know what?  I was interested to see if I was right
or wrong --- and guess what --- I was wrong.

Here is the response I just received from the software
author:

From: Shirt Pocket Support [

Sent: Saturday, September 26, 2009 6:17 PM

To: Epstein, Ronald JSubject: Re: (Case 103607) Support Request

No, Ron: SuperDuper! works fine with FireWire and USB drives. Given what you've said, you didn't boot from the drive.

Instead, you held down "T", which turns your Mac into a FireWire drive, which is why it showed the FireWire symbol.

To start up from an external drive, you need to hold down Option/Alt when powering on.

--

Dave Nanian

Shirt Pocket

mailto:support@shirt-pocket.com]

 

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

 Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders  Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

 Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive Click Here for our complete DVD review archive

 Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule  Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#15 of 25 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Executive Producer



  • 14,318 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted September 26 2009 - 10:39 AM

And that's what I was saying about SD! tech support /img/vbsmilies/htf/smile.gif

Glad you got it sorted. The Mac boot key options are not obvious.


#16 of 25 OFFLINE   JohnRice

JohnRice

    Lead Actor



  • 8,578 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 20 2000
  • Real Name:John

Posted September 26 2009 - 11:05 AM

Ron, I was going to say, I have booted from a usb backup created with SD, but it wasn't in SL.  Glad you got it sorted out

FWIW, you can also select the usb drive in "Startup Disk" in System Preferences, select the desired drive and click "Restart".

The Hybrid System

The Music Part: Emotiva XSP-1, Thiel CS 3.6, Emotiva XPA-2, Marantz SA8004, Emotiva ERC-3, SVS PB-12 Plus 2

The Surround Part: Sherbourn PT-7030, Thiel SCS3, Emotiva XPA-5, Polk & Emotiva Surrounds.


#17 of 25 OFFLINE   Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul



  • 40,596 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted September 26 2009 - 11:15 AM

I have talked to Dave at Shirt Pocket software on many
occasions.  When I first got SuperDuper I was still a Mac
newbie and he really took the time to answer my inquiries.

I have used backup software on Windows (Acronis) and
it's so much simpler to use on the Mac side.  It's just a
matter of copying all the folders to one drive and back to
another without having to worry about registry entries and
such.

Good Lord I love my Mac. 

 

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

 Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders  Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

 Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive Click Here for our complete DVD review archive

 Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule  Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#18 of 25 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Executive Producer



  • 14,318 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted September 26 2009 - 11:54 AM

I've only used SD! for bootable clones -- a regular snapshot of my system in case of disaster or doing a major reinstall.

Have you used it for targeted backups or other ways? I'm going to have a spare 500GB drive shortly and need to find a use for it :)


#19 of 25 OFFLINE   JohnRice

JohnRice

    Lead Actor



  • 8,578 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 20 2000
  • Real Name:John

Posted September 26 2009 - 12:40 PM

Ron, or whoever, I am curious about the earlier comment regarding backing up the Windows portion of a drive.  I use Parallels and SD backs it up just like any Mac volume, but it is really just a big file on a regular Mac volume.  I have used it to restore a volume with Parallels on it.  I'm just not clear how Boot Camp differs from Parallels and if SD can be used to backup and restore a Boot Camp partition.

FWIW, I use SD to back up several volumes, not just bootable ones.  I have the habit of keeping one volume or partition with nothing but the OS and apps, and other volumes with only files.  I designate certain volumes to be backed up and others (with large temporary files) to not be backed up. Generally I have four volumes mounted on my desktop.  The OS & Apps, the other volume with critical files that is backed up and the one which isn't, plus one networked volume that contains all my music files, which also gets backed up periodically after I add stuff.  The volumes I back up to are always turned off when not being backed up, as an additional level of security against any kind of catastrophic lightning strike.  We do have rather violent weather in Colorado, and it is a genuine risk.

The Hybrid System

The Music Part: Emotiva XSP-1, Thiel CS 3.6, Emotiva XPA-2, Marantz SA8004, Emotiva ERC-3, SVS PB-12 Plus 2

The Surround Part: Sherbourn PT-7030, Thiel SCS3, Emotiva XPA-5, Polk & Emotiva Surrounds.


#20 of 25 ONLINE   Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Executive Producer



  • 17,093 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted September 26 2009 - 01:50 PM

Are you saying SuperDuper now copies bootable bootcamp windows volumes or is what you are saying specific to an emulated OS?  So far as I knew only Winclone allowed that, and it works flawlessly.

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt