Major update to Carbon Copy Cloner

Discussion in 'Apple' started by Sam Posten, Sep 23, 2009.

  1. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    20,825
    Likes Received:
    1,865
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    Fantastic new features!
    http://www.bombich.com/ccc_features.html

    Now allows easy 'bit level' copies of hard disks, should make for easy imaging of drives with Boot Camp partitions.

    Will test it personally this weekend
     
  2. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    20,825
    Likes Received:
    1,865
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    Er damn =(
     
  3. Christian Behrens

    Christian Behrens Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2000
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Real Name:
    Christian Behrens
    That's what Winclone is for.

    -Christian
     
  4. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    20,825
    Likes Received:
    1,865
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    Of course, and it's my tool of choice for that job. But being able to do both at once would be something even better!
     
  5. Ted Todorov

    Ted Todorov Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2000
    Messages:
    2,959
    Likes Received:
    22
    I am shortly going to need either CCC or SuperDuper, as I am going to swap the boot disk on my MacPro for a higher capacity disk. Which of the two should I get?
     
  6. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    20,825
    Likes Received:
    1,865
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    I love both but use CCC more
     
  7. Ted Todorov

    Ted Todorov Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2000
    Messages:
    2,959
    Likes Received:
    22
    Quote:
    Any particular reason?
     
  8. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    20,825
    Likes Received:
    1,865
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    It was easy to set up my automated nightly backups.
     
  9. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    17,359
    Likes Received:
    1,332
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    I paid for SuperDuper! (two copies for home) and like it. I think when I was looking it had better info about its features and possibly was upgraded to 10.5 before CCC. I've been impressed by the support as well. I've emailed SuperDuper! several times about small and large questions and received personal responses within minutes in most cases and always within a day.

    So I like SuperDuper! And it has a very useful free / unregistered mode.

    But I have only heard good things about CCC and it is completely free.

    You can't go wrong with either one.
     
  10. Ted Todorov

    Ted Todorov Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2000
    Messages:
    2,959
    Likes Received:
    22
    Good to hear! My 2TB WD Caviar Black disk to replace the 640GB stock boot drive on the MacPro is on its way. My disk space need grows faster than Tribbles.
     
  11. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Administrator
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    46,386
    Likes Received:
    4,354
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    I never used Carbon Copy but am a huge fan of SuperDuper.
    Has saved my butt many times. Very easy to use and a
    guarantee that once you do an initial backup you can easily
    restore.

    Only problem I find is that with the new versions of the
    SuperDuper software they require a firewire drive to restore.
    That wasn't always the case, and I hope I am wrong that
    its the only option now.
     
  12. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    17,359
    Likes Received:
    1,332
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    SuperDuper works fine with USB drives.
     
  13. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Administrator
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    46,386
    Likes Received:
    4,354
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    Dave,

    Not 100% certain about that.

    When I upgraded my desktop to Snow Leopard I decided
    to go back to Leopard.

    Using the new Snow Leopard compatible version of Super
    Duper I attempted a bootup from my USB external. It would
    not recognize the USB and asked for a firewire connection
    instead.

    I actually had to copy everything from my external USB
    to an external FIREWIRE drive in order to do the restore.
     
  14. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Administrator
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    46,386
    Likes Received:
    4,354
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    You know what? I was interested to see if I was right
    or wrong --- and guess what --- I was wrong.

    Here is the response I just received from the software
    author:

    From: Shirt Pocket Support [

    Sent: Saturday, September 26, 2009 6:17 PM

    To: Epstein, Ronald JSubject: Re: (Case 103607) Support Request
    No, Ron: SuperDuper! works fine with FireWire and USB drives. Given what you've said, you didn't boot from the drive.
    Instead, you held down "T", which turns your Mac into a FireWire drive, which is why it showed the FireWire symbol.
    To start up from an external drive, you need to hold down Option/Alt when powering on.

    --

    Dave Nanian

    Shirt Pocket

    mailto:support@shirt-pocket.com]
     
  15. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    17,359
    Likes Received:
    1,332
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    And that's what I was saying about SD! tech support

    Glad you got it sorted. The Mac boot key options are not obvious.
     
  16. JohnRice

    JohnRice Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    8,802
    Likes Received:
    203
    Real Name:
    John
    Ron, I was going to say, I have booted from a usb backup created with SD, but it wasn't in SL. Glad you got it sorted out

    FWIW, you can also select the usb drive in "Startup Disk" in System Preferences, select the desired drive and click "Restart".
     
  17. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Administrator
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    46,386
    Likes Received:
    4,354
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    I have talked to Dave at Shirt Pocket software on many
    occasions. When I first got SuperDuper I was still a Mac
    newbie and he really took the time to answer my inquiries.

    I have used backup software on Windows (Acronis) and
    it's so much simpler to use on the Mac side. It's just a
    matter of copying all the folders to one drive and back to
    another without having to worry about registry entries and
    such.

    Good Lord I love my Mac.
     
  18. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    17,359
    Likes Received:
    1,332
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    I've only used SD! for bootable clones -- a regular snapshot of my system in case of disaster or doing a major reinstall.

    Have you used it for targeted backups or other ways? I'm going to have a spare 500GB drive shortly and need to find a use for it :)
     
  19. JohnRice

    JohnRice Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    8,802
    Likes Received:
    203
    Real Name:
    John
    Ron, or whoever, I am curious about the earlier comment regarding backing up the Windows portion of a drive. I use Parallels and SD backs it up just like any Mac volume, but it is really just a big file on a regular Mac volume. I have used it to restore a volume with Parallels on it. I'm just not clear how Boot Camp differs from Parallels and if SD can be used to backup and restore a Boot Camp partition.

    FWIW, I use SD to back up several volumes, not just bootable ones. I have the habit of keeping one volume or partition with nothing but the OS and apps, and other volumes with only files. I designate certain volumes to be backed up and others (with large temporary files) to not be backed up. Generally I have four volumes mounted on my desktop. The OS & Apps, the other volume with critical files that is backed up and the one which isn't, plus one networked volume that contains all my music files, which also gets backed up periodically after I add stuff. The volumes I back up to are always turned off when not being backed up, as an additional level of security against any kind of catastrophic lightning strike. We do have rather violent weather in Colorado, and it is a genuine risk.
     
  20. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    20,825
    Likes Received:
    1,865
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    Are you saying SuperDuper now copies bootable bootcamp windows volumes or is what you are saying specific to an emulated OS? So far as I knew only Winclone allowed that, and it works flawlessly.
     

Share This Page